Can't Disarm Alarm

Discussion in 'Engine, Drive Train, and Suspension' started by VenomViperTN, Jun 28, 2003.

  1. VenomViperTN

    VenomViperTN Enthusiast

    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Location:
    Maryville, TN, USA
    Can\'t Disarm Alarm

    Out of the blue my 97 RT/10 auto arms herself...and with the clifford clicker, I can't disarm the (factory)alarm...I open the locked doors from inside...the alarm goes off and car won't start. I disconnected/reconnected the battery connections under hood but that did not do it. How do I make it leave me alone??????????
     
  2. Chuck 98 RT/10

    Chuck 98 RT/10 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    17,930
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Location:
    tampa, fl USA
    Re: Can\'t Disarm Alarm

    Sounds like the alarm needs to be reset.

    Stand in front of the Viper, point the key fob to it and hold both buttons down until the horn blows. About 30 seconds I think.
     
  3. Ulysses

    Ulysses Enthusiast

    Posts:
    3,410
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Location:
    San Diego, CA. USA
    Re: Can\'t Disarm Alarm

    Sounds like you have an aftermarket alarm on top of your factory alarm. The procedure Chuck talks about requires the factory FOB.
     
  4. Jay Herbert

    Jay Herbert Enthusiast

    Posts:
    3,111
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1997
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Re: Can\'t Disarm Alarm

    Are the front turn signals blinking? Is the "Alarm Set" blinking?

    It is possible your battery is low. Below 10 Volts alarm sets and won't reset. You can check the battery voltage with a volt-meter at the positive terminal under the hood on the drivers side. Just clip the "+" lead to the positive terminal and the "-" lead to a ground (header bolts, or any bolt attached to the frame works fine).

    Mine died a few weaks ago, it was so dead it didn't blink the turn signals. mine read 9.6 volts. Charged it up, and it ran fine for the entire Regional
    Rendezvous in Dallas.

    Purchasing and installing a Battery Tender is now on my list of "To-Do's".
     
  5. Russ Oasis

    Russ Oasis VCA Member - South Florida

    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    May 13, 2001
    Location:
    Miami, FL USA
    Re: Can\'t Disarm Alarm

    I've had extensive experience with this problem. How long are you disconnecting the battery for? You need to do it for at least 20 minutes. That always fixes it for me. By the way, most of the times that it happened to me (in fact every time except for once) was at one of the VOI's. I think that other alarm key FOB's confuse my system In other words someone elses remote alarm transmitter is effecting your car. Just my thoughts.
     
  6. WESTCOAST JASON

    WESTCOAST JASON Enthusiast

    Posts:
    603
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2000
    Location:
    Temecula, CA
    Re: Can\'t Disarm Alarm

    Since the factory alarm is an integral part of the factory ECM most alarm installers put the factory fob on a relay that the aftermarket alarm clicks. IF the relay is not disabling the factory alarm, the problem you describe would happen. Can you get in touch with the alarm installer that did the clifford? My 97 Had an after market alarm and the factory fob was put under the passenger side of the dash (wired to a relay)

    Good luck, alarm problems really suck....
     
  7. Mopar Steve

    Mopar Steve Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,871
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Location:
    Newark DE
    Re: Can\'t Disarm Alarm

    You have a blown fuse under the dash. (fuse box) Part of the fact alarm. It happened to me. Trust me. Check.
     
  8. Jay Herbert

    Jay Herbert Enthusiast

    Posts:
    3,111
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1997
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Re: Can\'t Disarm Alarm

    Ahhhh.... forgot about this rare one!
     
  9. musclenutz

    musclenutz Viper Owner

    Posts:
    602
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    I just pushed the driver side door lock button and now my doors are locked.Key fob does nothing...went and bought new batteries but still nothing.Only way to get in or out is by using the emergency door pull. Sucks big time. Just got it inspected and wanted to ride some. Right now i have u8nhooked the pos terminal and am going to let it sit a while t5hen try it. Storming big time so im outta here!
     

Share This Page