Cost of built motor

jojogts

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Guys whats the cost of a built gen 2 motor? I have a 2000 GTS with a roe supercharger I am going to a 10lb pulley. I am going to upgrade my pistons but I thought I would ask you guys what a fully built motor cost? Thanks for any info you have...

OP
OP
J

jojogts

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Thank you! Now that takes care of the hard parts but what about machine work. Im talking about a full engine build, parts, labor, removing and installing of motor. Thanks...

plumcrazy

Enthusiast
Reaction score
built short block from underground is 11500 i think. greg good head i think are gonna run you 3000-3500 depending on what ya wanna do.

OP
OP
J

jojogts

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Im fairly new to the viper community so my knowledge is not so good but $11,500 is really High. I know theirs not alot of viper but I cant believe people pay that price. If you priced the hard parts and the machine work that would not come close to 11,500 so your talking what 5 or 6 thousand dollars labor to pull the motor and build it and put it back in and thats being generous. Im just not used to those type of prices for a built motor thanks alot...

Dads Toy

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I am planning an LSX 454 with 14:1 compression. nice heads and it will cost me around 11-12K from a really good builder it will put down close to 800hp all motor. GM has a crate 454 mild build with 620hp for 12K. 11,500 sounds about right for a viper build if you are doing it right. Like you I am new to this community also so I do not know but it sounds right to me.

1BADGTS

Enthusiast
Reaction score