Insurance?

pitdad

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I'm a 50+year-old married driver with a clean record and no accidents shopping insurance rates and experienced the following:

A Liberty Mutual agent told me the Viper is now classified as a "race car" and agents are excluded from selling new policies.

A Geico agent told me my 2011 Jeep Wrangler is not insurable because it has a winch and occasionally goes off road.

I didn't realize I was living so dangerously!

Anyone else experiencing this?

Mopar Steve

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have:

Porsche 911
99 Viper GTS
57 Porsche 356
06 SRT Ram Viper truck

All insured with Grundy. I'm 55 and I pay about 1400 per year all with AGREED VALUE POLICY. And unlimited mileage. There is a big difference in insurance policies. normal car insurance will pay you very little in the event of a loss and at the same time cost you significantly more money. This is NOT the right policy for a collector car. Next is "declared value" policy. This will not pay you what your declared amount policy reads in the amount of a loss. (Don't believe me? Check. Don't ask your agent most don't understand the declared V/S agreed value difference ) Finally is the Agreed value policy. This pays the exact amount in the event of a loss.

ViperCeeJ

Enthusiast
Reaction score
This is very good information, thank you. My 18 year old son has a '67 Pontiac and a '84 cammed out custom truck. You can imagine, our insurance is pretty high being he's only 18. I will have to look into this.

Mopar Steve

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I am amazed at how many people are willing to pay so much more for so much lass coverage. Traditional car insurance for a collector car is just foolish.

TalonTSi90

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I am amazed at how many people are willing to pay so much more for so much lass coverage. Traditional car insurance for a collector car is just foolish.