lug nut torque settings please

Discussion in 'SRT10 and SRT10 Coupe Discussions' started by Michael Hatch, Sep 9, 2006.

  1. Michael Hatch

    Michael Hatch Viper Owner

    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa,Fl. USA
    for street and track. thanks
     
  2. GR8_ASP

    GR8_ASP Enthusiast

    Posts:
    5,637
    Joined:
    May 28, 1998
    90 ft lbs. I go to 95 ft lb when I put on track wheels. But be careful. Last August I broke 3 studs and needed to do a midnight service to get on the trailer and on the road. I will never again use the impact gun because I am in a hurry!
     
  3. Chuck 98 RT/10

    Chuck 98 RT/10 VCA Venom Member-Midsouth

    Posts:
    17,930
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Location:
    tampa, fl USA
    Did you cross-thread them with the gun, is that how they snapped? I always start the nut by hand before putting the gun on to snug them up and then I finish with the torque wrench.
     
  4. GR8_ASP

    GR8_ASP Enthusiast

    Posts:
    5,637
    Joined:
    May 28, 1998
    I don't know what I did different that particular day. It was on my second wheel. Maybe I was in a hurry and did not get the nuts started far enough. But yes 3 did cross thread. Bad enough they became locked and the only way to free it was to bust them.

    And being the front wheel I had to remove the whole assembly. Ugh! I was very happy the Murrays is open to midnight (on a Sunday night no less). I was on my way to Brainerd Minnesota the next morning (about 900 miles away) and wanted to finish fast. Guess I did not.
     
  5. Sellshomesdrivesviper

    Sellshomesdrivesviper Viper Owner

    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
    I let my pit crew handle it for me.
     
  6. Racer Robbie

    Racer Robbie Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,817
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Location:
    Guilford, CT-USA
    Factory wheels are 90 Lb Ft
     

Share This Page