My Mopar PCM is not working with K&N Typhoon kit

Discussion in 'SRT10 and SRT10 Coupe Discussions' started by JoeCom05, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. JoeCom05

    JoeCom05 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    My Gen4 got service and a K&N Typhoon kit this week. Full Belanger and Mopar PCM have been installed by Roanoke on car delivery in 2009.

    I did a 100mls testdrive when picking up the car. Excellent/better throttle response above 4,500revs

    On the way back home at Saturday night I drove constantly 150 mph and up on the German Autobahn. The PCM sent an engine warning light and stopped us cruising. After a 5 minute stopp I did a new try with 185 mph same error: fault code P2174

    Today, Sunday, I drove back to my Viper shop and they worked 6h sorting things out (I fully trust in the guys of Viperteam):
    After four 150mph plus testdrives removing the K&N, installing a new PCM, sensors... forward and backward things are clear:

    The PCM installed by Roanoke 4/2009 coded ...AA... is not able to handle my new setup.
    Now, having a new PCM installed and the K&N plus the full Belanger I love it. :2tu:

    The cost of 2 Mopar controllers $$$ are no fun :omg:
    My hope is Roanoke will have an idea when I´ll give them a call.

    So beware of installing K&N´s together with AA coded Mopar PCM´s.

    _____________________
    Joe
    09 SRT-10 Cvrt white w/blue stripes
    05 SRT-10 Commemorative Edition 80/100 (sold)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 6, 2011
  2. 01sapphirebob

    01sapphirebob Enthusiast

    Posts:
    4,962
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    "OIHO"
    Did you remove the rain deflector? I believe even with the PCM you throw codes if the rain deflector is removed.
     
  3. JoeCom05

    JoeCom05 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    No - removing the rain deflector makes much more problems.
     
  4. Garron

    Garron Viper Owner

    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    This is your code,"P2174-AIRFLOW RESTRICTION DETECTED" you CAN NOT leave the "Drychargers" or "rain socks" over the K&N filters if you are driving the vehicle hard. It should not of taken 6 hours to fix or find out. There is nothing wrong with running a mopar PCM with a K& N filter
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2011
  5. JoeCom05

    JoeCom05 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    The new Mopar PCM is coded ...AB... instead of ...AA... and everything works fine. A 2010 version.

    There has to be enough air flow above 150mph to feed the K&N's. Otherwise the newer PCM would result in the same fault code.
    ???
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2011
  6. Viperless

    Viperless Viper Owner

    Age:
    54
    Posts:
    1,359
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    MN
    Can you remove the rain deflector now?
     
  7. 01sapphirebob

    01sapphirebob Enthusiast

    Posts:
    4,962
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    "OIHO"
    Yes, knave heard this before.
     
  8. 01sapphirebob

    01sapphirebob Enthusiast

    Posts:
    4,962
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    "OIHO"
    Might be a silly suggestion but could it be the gauge itself?
     
  9. Dan Cragin

    Dan Cragin Enthusiast

    Posts:
    1,202
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Location:
    LA, CA
    Remove the K&N rain socks---I prefer the stock airbox.
     
  10. Garron

    Garron Viper Owner

    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Dan do you sell a drop in K&N filter for the stock air box?
     
  11. VicTxV10

    VicTxV10 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,559
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Victoria, TX
    I had same issue with the rain socks on. Took them off and no more codes.

    I have the K&N Typhoon kit and I think I'm going back to OEM box with K&N drop in. I hit the dyno this weekend and with headers, ported upper and lower intake and Mopar PCM I hit 582. I think my numbers should be a little higher and the K&N my be the issue. I've heard the Typhoon's don't really make any power from other users.
     
  12. JoeCom05

    JoeCom05 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    No rain socks on the K&N´s
    Gauges = sensors have been changed for test.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011
  13. JoeCom05

    JoeCom05 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    Attached a photo of the label on the Mopar PCM from Roanoke. The label of the new Mopar PCM looks different - not just a newer date :oops:
     

    Attached Files:

  14. VicTxV10

    VicTxV10 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,559
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Victoria, TX
    So, is this the old one or new one? Where is the AA and AB code located on the label?
     
  15. ViperGTS

    ViperGTS Enthusiast

    Posts:
    5,016
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    >>>Today, Sunday, I drove back to my Viper shop and they worked 6h sorting things out (I fully trust in the guys of Viperteam):
    After four 150mph plus testdrives removing the K&N, installing a new PCM, sensors... forward and backward things are clear:<<<<<<<<<<<<<



    You mention the guy........................................who crashed my RT/10........:rolleyes:
    I do not trust them - guess why? :lmao:

    BTW, my GEN-4 runs perfect with the Mopar PCM delivered by Roanoke and installed myself back in 2009 with the help of a trustworthy Dodge dealership here in Southern Bavaria. :sun:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 6, 2011
  16. AlbertFattal

    AlbertFattal Enthusiast

    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Interesting
     
  17. JoeCom05

    JoeCom05 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    The photo shows the label of my old PCM from Roanoke and underneath the white label is a code ...AA... instead of ...AB...

    I hope to get the code tomorrow.


    ###

    @ViperGTS:
    As far as I know your Gen4 you don´t have the K&N Typhoon kit and full Belangers installed. Mine had no problems either before adding the K&N. The complete set resulted in P2174.

    :double::double::double::double:

    We all know they crashed your RT/10 three years before and you got a high compensation in total for that mistake. I and a hell lot more Viper owners trust in these guys and their Venom-knowledge. This won´t change by your grumble.
    There is and has to be an end for every story in life...
     
  18. Viper Parts of America

    Viper Parts of America Enthusiast

    Posts:
    597
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    What is also interesting is that the Mopar Performance catalog specifies "P5155254AB Engine Control Module, Stage 1, 2008-10 Viper". Yet if you were to order that today, you would receive this:

    [​IMG]

    Note that they now show the "AB" in the part number.
     
  19. Viperless

    Viperless Viper Owner

    Age:
    54
    Posts:
    1,359
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    MN
    Interesting. Sure would like to know what the difference is if any. I got a very early one and I'm not convinced it's programmed correctly. I got zero extra horsepower out of it.
     
  20. JoeCom05

    JoeCom05 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    I got further details and understand now the difference of the 2 management modules:

    - the PCM which has been installed by Roanoke 2009 looks similar to a standard unit labeled like a Mopar PCM. When the Dodge dealer checks the PCM today with his analyzer by OBD2 they get the version number P5155255AA

    - my new Mopar PCM and the one on the photo of Viper Parts of America look different & work excellent in my setting. Reading their informations via OBD2 deliver the version number P5155255AB.

    => My Viper is much more livelier on the new PCM above 4,500revs and this can´t be the K&N alone.
    I don´t believe the AA- & AB- PCMs are equal in bits and bytes.

    _____________________
    Joe
    09 SRT-10 Cvrt white w/blue stripes
    05 SRT-10 Commemorative Edition 80/100 (sold)
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  21. mjorgensen Woodhouse

    mjorgensen Woodhouse VCA Member - West

    Posts:
    4,969
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha NE.
    The only differences is that the AB version will work better at higher altitudes, no other changes were made to it.
     
  22. ViperGTS

    ViperGTS Enthusiast

    Posts:
    5,016
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
  23. Viperless

    Viperless Viper Owner

    Age:
    54
    Posts:
    1,359
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    MN
    Glad I live in a low altitude area then. My car ran like crap at VOI in Salt Lake.
     
  24. JoeCom05

    JoeCom05 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    altitude = air pressure

    There might be an influence on the K&N problem.

    @mjorgensen:
    As far as you can value after seeing the photos: Is my old PCM an original Mopar Race ECU or just a standard PCM?

    _____________________
    Joe
    09 SRT-10 Cvrt white w/blue stripes
    05 SRT-10 Commemorative Edition 80/100 (sold)
     

Share This Page