new forum -posting pics in threads

Discussion in 'SRT10 and SRT10 Coupe Discussions' started by big-n-italian, Apr 10, 2007.

  1. kcobean

    kcobean Viper Owner

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    5,675
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    Sterling, VA
    Good questions!!!

    VCA Members get 500 MB of space in the gallery. That's alot, but with hi-res cameras being so readily available these days it can go fast! I would recommend photos be sized no larger than 1024x768. Any larger than that and they probably won't fit inside most people's browser windows without having to scroll vertically or horizontally to see it (unless they have a ridiculously high resolution on their monitor). For general stuff that you want in a post here on the forums, 640x480 or similar is good (maybe slightly different depending on your camera's aspect ratio). This way the photo fits comfortably within your post, it's big enough to retain detail, etc. But if you're uploading something that's wallpaper/screen-saver worthy, the bigger the better (this can eat up space fast though, as some of these can be upwards of 3Mb per photo in size).

    How: read through this thread, then visit the gallery and experiment a little. You won't break anything!

    When: Whenever you have a photo pertinent to a topic being discussed, or if you just want to share your latest shutterbug creation...that's entirely up to you!

    Where: Again, the gallery is a great place to store photos. There are great options out on the internet for free image hosting, I believe some of them are mentioned in this thread.

    Happy picture posting!
     
  2. Kevan

    Kevan Enthusiast

    Posts:
    2,556
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    There is a hack for VBulletin forums that automatically re-sizes pictures inside posts:
    "nCode Image Resizer"

    Works great.
    $0.00
    About 10 minutes to install and setup.
     
  3. HI-NOS-Viper

    HI-NOS-Viper Viper Owner

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    1,692
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Oh cmom who doesn't have a monitor now days that doesn't have a better resolution than that now days? Just giving you a hard time. ;) I do like the high res pictures better especially when saving them. Just my opinion. I say we keep up with gmail and go for 6725MB, after all we need to keep up with the new right? ;) :2tu:
     
  4. mike & juli

    mike & juli Enthusiast

    Posts:
    11,715
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Yeah, Big, I also don't have urls from the pics that are in my own picture files? Which is why I have a DEVIL of a time posting pics!!! UNLESS I upload to ImageShack each time...and when I DO upload a pic with an url to the member gallery, I get 'Done' on bottom of page, but a blank page? Any hints on that one? THANK YOU...you do a GREAT service here!!! :2tu: ~juli
     
  5. snakebitdave

    snakebitdave Viper Owner

    Posts:
    663
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Location:
    Mi, USA
    Thanks kcobean. and sorry, Chris, for the sizing question. I scrolled down your post to fast and didn't see the instructions. Sounds complicated but will give it a try.
     
  6. Copperhead245

    Copperhead245 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Location:
    Jefferson, NJ
    Trying to upload photos to my Gallery (about 400k JPG files). Once I click "Upload/Sumbit" the file spec I "Browse..." is cleared out and it indicates "Processing Upload... Please Wait!" and just stays there (I've let it go for more than a few minutes, but nothing).

    I've uploaded in the past, but maybe that was before the site changeover. Anything I'm obviously doing wrong?

    Ron
     
  7. kcobean

    kcobean Viper Owner

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    5,675
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    Sterling, VA
    Just as a test, try doing a single file and see if that works.
     
  8. Copperhead245

    Copperhead245 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Location:
    Jefferson, NJ
    Tried that (single file) - same exact thing (file spec clears out and "Processing"). It indicates:

    Disk space allowed on your account: Unlimited
    Disk space used on your account: 17,248,436kb (17248436 bytes)
    Disk space remaining for your account: Unlimited

    Note the second line, apparently a bug since it cannot be both kilobytes ("kb") and bytes...

    Any other ideas?
     
  9. kcobean

    kcobean Viper Owner

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    5,675
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    Sterling, VA
    PM headed your way.....
     
  10. Hiss

    Hiss Viper Owner

    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Need info on getting a video/audio(exhaust sound) on the SRT forum. I can load pics fine but can't get the video/audio on. I tried uploading and it refuses.

    I use the Adobe Photo shop 6 to store & edit pics & also store the Video/audio I have of my exhaust.

    Any info would be appreciated
     
  11. big-n-italian

    big-n-italian Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,547
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    if all else fails, you can always download your video to a website like youtube then provide us with a link to the video. :dunno:
     
  12. Hiss

    Hiss Viper Owner

    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Thanks for info-I may have to do it that way.

    I know their is a way to do this but can't figure it out yet.
     
  13. Canyon707

    Canyon707 Viper Owner

    Age:
    70
    Posts:
    1,405
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Location:
    Napa California
    I have been trying to do this but I don't know what a url is any help ???? I open a picture but nowhere does it say its url address. Sure like to post a pic.
     
  14. big-n-italian

    big-n-italian Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,547
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Location:
    Central Illinois

    call me anytime. i will pm you my tele number.
     
  15. joedud

    joedud Enthusiast

    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    Port Orange, FL (just below Daytona Beach)
    Hope this isn't a repost.

    Try using Photobucket, an online site. It's free and if I can handle it, you're capable, believe me. Just start an account, download your pictures, and then you can post them really easily.

    PM me if you need anything. Good luck.
     
  16. VIPERCON305

    VIPERCON305 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Location:
    Miramar, Fl.
    Does anyone know how to do above procedure but for a Mac? All of my Viper pics are on my Mac and I do not get the same options when right clicking an image or file on my computer. i would like to get the pics that i post to be bigger ... Thanks.
     

Share This Page