Nitrous Oxide switches

Discussion in 'Performance Modifications' started by RTTTTed, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. RTTTTed

    RTTTTed Viper Owner

    Posts:
    6,438
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    When I bought my 2000 ACR it came with a Nitrous Oxide switch box that was loose on the floor. The switchbox was designed to be mounted to the console under the console pad/cover. When I prepped the ACR for the car show I loosened the screws and replace the switch box back beside the console. I did interfere with my leg space and if I relaxed I found the box annoying. It didn't fit into the 'look of the interior so it looked best laying on the floor.

    Since I quit smoking several years ago, I decided to replace the ashtray with a switch box. Since the ACR has a new ashtray I decided not to chop that up and build a replacement plate to hold the switches while leaving enough room for the wiring under the console cover. I decided that the ACR was Red/silver with Black interior. The expensive switches mounted in the switchbox came with snap-on protectors that were coated with what looks like Red Chrome! I figured that using a piece of .040" Stainless Steel would give me the strength needed for a mounting plate while looking good. I spot welded a 'hook' along one end and using a screw welded to a small plate on the other end of the switch mounting plate. This allows easy installation and removal of the plate. Stock means just spin the screw 65 degrees and lift the plate out, push the original ashtray back into slot and it's origianl again! My new SS plate mounts just below the ACR brushed ID plate. A huge improvement and much cleaner look to the interior of the car. The Emergency Brake handle is over top of the switches and protects them from 'accidents'.

    [​IMG]


    Installed in ACR

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Ted
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2010
  2. J&R3xV10

    J&R3xV10 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    2,143
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Very Nice. Gives it a clean look.
     
  3. RTTTTed

    RTTTTed Viper Owner

    Posts:
    6,438
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Thanks, the idea was to get away from things sticking out of the console and banging around on the floor (perfection?). Color co-ordination worked out well and I had it in mind that if the colors wer WRONG, the plate could be painted Black as a last resort. Now I'll convince the wife to make me some labels that can stick onto the switch coverplates.

    Ted
     
  4. jcaspar1

    jcaspar1 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    1,126
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2000
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Holy Jesus!! Is that a cup holder?!?!?!? In a Viper!!!

    :omg:
     
  5. RTTTTed

    RTTTTed Viper Owner

    Posts:
    6,438
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    2 cupholders actually. Other clip-on holder is in the back.

    Being a coffeeholic I need my 'fix'. After 'testing' a Z06 my coffee flew around my car making a huge mess and scalding me. Now, cupholders! Shortest drive I do is 400 miles. Not a 'city' car.

    Ted
     
  6. plumcrazy

    plumcrazy Viper Owner

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    16,219
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    ALL OVER
    switches look good cup holder looks horrible. luckily the come out

    id never buy a viper with a cup holder !
     
  7. Rollin4

    Rollin4 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Anacoco, La.
    What is that red thing above the steering wheel?
     
  8. forexx4

    forexx4 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Location:
    DFW/Houston
    The biggest shift-light ever? :dunno:
     
  9. vpower01

    vpower01 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    936
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Location:
    Reno Nevada
  10. RTTTTed

    RTTTTed Viper Owner

    Posts:
    6,438
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Cupholder brackets are held in place by the screws that hold the radio. Other than rear spoiler car can be put back to stock with minimal amount of effort.

    I like the Nitrous Switchplate looks as well. Does that mount recessed?

    Ted
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2010
  11. vpower01

    vpower01 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    936
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Location:
    Reno Nevada
    Ya it looks pretty much like yours from the top this is all you see...
    [​IMG]

    and it kind of hooks from the bottom. crappy picture[​IMG]

    Your switches are better quality as these are cheap plastic.


    .
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2010
  12. J&R3xV10

    J&R3xV10 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    2,143
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Location:
    Las Vegas
  13. vpower01

    vpower01 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    936
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Location:
    Reno Nevada
    I agree i would rather have his. Much nicer. :2tu:
     
  14. plumcrazy

    plumcrazy Viper Owner

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    16,219
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    ALL OVER
  15. RTTTTed

    RTTTTed Viper Owner

    Posts:
    6,438
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Flatterers! I thought the Stainless finish would match the ACR signature plate directly above it. You're right about the switches. Macedo used high amerage switches. I some of those round switches - they work nice for light applications. Yours are used to control a relay, right?

    The covers are awesome in preventing accidents and I installed the purge button on the inside so that it's also hidden and protected.

    [​IMG]

    Ted
     
  16. plumcrazy

    plumcrazy Viper Owner

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    16,219
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    ALL OVER
    i would hope the go to a relay.....
     
  17. vpower01

    vpower01 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    936
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Location:
    Reno Nevada
    Ya mine go to a gauges that control the relays that have a safety cut out
    if the fuel pressure isn’t between 52 and 55 psi, TPS is at 4 volts for wot,
    A/F has got to be between 11.2 /11.9 ½ sec delay and nos bottle pressure is
    between 950 to 1050 and the rpm Min limit is 3,000 Max 6,100 or the system shuts down.
    Bottle opener Active on Switched power. Pitty they dont make my gauges anymore.
    [​IMG]

    Nitrous outlet is supposed to get in another gauge that will do the same stuff but just not look as fancy. It might not even look like a gauge im not sure, you probably have your setup anyway.

    If you worked on it sooner i would have had you make 2 so i could have the same. :2tu:
     
  18. RTTTTed

    RTTTTed Viper Owner

    Posts:
    6,438
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Mine was all set up with the Split second tuning box to work with the Paxton set-up. Built for plug-play, fill the bottles (I have a C02 intercooler Chiller System) turn on the switches and away it goes.

    My ACR has a digital tach/shiftlight and a methanol injection LED. It has an XM sat radio (nupaid) that I tucked inside the passenger knee bolster so the interior looks clean and (other than the cupholders) not much different than stock.


    Macedo mounted the pumpson the frame, under the car with the Snow meth injection pump. He replumbed the windshield washer tank for the Methanol so the car retains 'some' of that stock look.

    Ted
     

Share This Page