PCM Mileage does not match Odometer

Discussion in 'New Owner Questions' started by ViperBrockway, Oct 25, 2007.

  1. ViperBrockway

    ViperBrockway Viper Owner

    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    I have a friend that is looking at a 1997 Dodge Viper with 30,000 miles on it in Orlando Florida at a used car lot. He does not know anything about this dealership other then that they have the car priced to sell ($35,000). The dealer claims the guy who traded it in was only the second owner and only owned the car since last February. The Car Fax backs up what the dealer is saying and shows only two registered owners of the car. The Car Fax shows a mileage of 29,100 in February of 2007 when the last owner registered the car.

    My friend had the car brought to a Dodge Dealer (he did not ask for a Viper certified tech) who claimed the car was in excellent shape with no issues other than that the PCM was showing a mileage of 47,597 and the Odometer showed 30,087. The dodge dealer said the PCM could of been replaced with one from another Viper and that he did not think the odometer had been messed with.

    Does anyone have any advice on things to look for to tell if the odometer has been tampered with?
     
  2. carguy07

    carguy07 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,310
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Location:
    Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA
  3. Asp Man

    Asp Man Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,472
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    Kelowna B.C., WEStern Canada
    Could be that the PCM was replaced, who knows when.
    Could be that the guy had the speedo unplugged or on a switch. Look for an unexplained switch, may be well hidden.
    Could be that the speedo was replaced somewhere along the line, there should be a sticker on the door jamb with the old mileage that should add to 47+. Could be it's fallen off.
    Could be that your buddy should run the other way as fast as he can. There are plenty of fully certified mileage cars out there. Don't buy the cheapest one you see.

    That's my opinion, anyway.
     
  4. whitebluevipe

    whitebluevipe Enthusiast

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    926
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Location:
    danville, pa
    so how do you check the mileage on a PCM?
     
  5. Tom Sessions

    Tom Sessions Enthusiast

    Age:
    48
    Posts:
    808
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2000
    Location:
    Hampstead,NC.
    The PCM will have the VIN in it as well as the mileage.I would make sure the VIN # matches.Once the VIN in programmed into the pcm its there for good.I have seen vipers that showed 300,000 miles in the pcm.I would not be scared of the car just because of this.
     
  6. ViperTony

    ViperTony Enthusiast

    Posts:
    7,555
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    At Tator's tech session did see DRB scans for the attendees. One PCM show 200,000 miles. Chuck said that he sees these once in a while but there's no explanation for it. If it concerns you, give him a call.
     
  7. Viper Wizard

    Viper Wizard Viper Owner

    Posts:
    5,258
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2001
    Location:
    South Salem, NY USA
    Tom & Tony are right, I have seen over 500,000 miles on some PCM's!:omg: DO NOT go by this mileage on the PCM!! With a DRB you can re-set this mileage.
     
  8. ViperBrockway

    ViperBrockway Viper Owner

    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    To reset the mileage on the PCM do you need a Dodge DRB or is there a cheap aftermarket scanner that will work? The concern here is for resale of the vehicle, don't want any questions coming up about mileage that might make a perspective buyer go else where. This is especially the case with this car since in Texas when you get a new Title on a car that is over ten years old they list the mileage on the title as being "EXEMPT". So basically an owner can only go by the car fax and odometer reading to make himself feel good that everything is as it should be.
     
  9. Venomiss

    Venomiss Guest

    So are you or your friend looking to turn this Viper around for a few$$ or keeping it?

    Pay the money either way and get a Viper Tech to look at it that's local to that area.
     
  10. Viper Wizard

    Viper Wizard Viper Owner

    Posts:
    5,258
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2001
    Location:
    South Salem, NY USA
    As far as I know, only the DRB can re-set the mileage in a PCM.
     
  11. JiPi

    JiPi Viper Owner

    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Location:
    Geneva, Switzerland
    Does the car have modified gears?
    I don't know if it is true or not, but I read once that if you have gears installed, the speedo calibration box only modifies the info that goes to the speedo so that it indicates the right speed, but the PCM still reads the speed (and so the # of miles) respect to the stock gears.
    That could explain why you have less miles on your speedo than what shows the PCM, but the difference seems a bit high.
     
  12. Limit

    Limit Viper Owner

    Posts:
    586
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    It sounds like the PCM isn't a big deal. I'd call the previous owners about any problems they may have had... They have no reason to lie about it at this juncture.
     
  13. sctdev

    sctdev Viper Owner

    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    I've got access to a DRB if necessary. There may also be another way to "adjust" the PCM milage. Now that I have a Viper to play with I have a big incentive to dig into tuning the Viper.
     

Share This Page