Problems with "Advanced Search"

JonB

Legacy\Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
I have been using and recommending the SEARCH functions for 13+ years. However, this newest iteration of the site is a weak search engine at best.....or I am doing something waaaay wrong. One issue:

How do I look for all posts by an individual screenname, no keywords specified, for a designated period. For example, when I try to pull up all posts under my own name for one month, the results are only 7 posts. But in fact I have made over 120. I also tried some other names of higher-volume posters, and get only a small fraction of their posts. Examples: If I search all posts by 1TONY1 I only get 6 total posts ! Same problem with V10SPEEDLOVER and others.

I have also tried filtering "All Types" and "FORUMS" with the same piddly results.

I did ask a site moderator his opinion, but he says he can see 120+ of my posts with the same search parameters.

WHASSUP? Thanks Volunteers

-RUNNR

Site programmer
Reaction score
I just increased the # of results per page to 50, and now I can see 220 posts by you.

I have no idea how the latest version of vBulletin determines which ones to return, as it has some sort of scoring system in place for threads which assigns a weight to the thread and then returns the highest X results.

The new system seems to be different/enhanced, and there isn't much I can do about it without completely re-writing it. The vBulletin tech support forums show the exact same behavior so it appears that is the direction they are heading towards.

OP
OP
J

JonB

Legacy\Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
Lets say I want to see what MARV S {for example} has posted in the past 6 mos... I cannot ?

And in Advanced Search you can see that I made 220 posts, but I can only see 7 ? I must be doing something wrong?

ViperTony

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I get a lot of results:

Advance Search, Single Content Type
User Name: JonB - PartsRack