Proper use of orbital buffer? search button no help.

toddt

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Detail pros--

I've never used an orbital before now. Exactly what are the steps for maximum buffage and minimum damage?

SSSSE YA

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Try waxing by hand in a up and down motion, to prevent swirl marks, or try a small location first. I learned the hard way in the middle of the hood.

HP

Enthusiast
Reaction score
If you use a buffer to wax the car. 1. Make sure your only
using wax or polish(make sure there is no listing for abrasives
or compounding ingredients, or scratch repair). 2. Make sure
you keep moving and check surface occasionally for heat(early
indication of too much friction. 3. Don't apply pressure-see#2
4. check pad often
I don't have a buffer, but they can be a handy time, and muscle,
saver, as long as your not the compulsive/obsessive type.

genXgts

Enthusiast
Reaction score
While far from an expert on the subject, I used to own a detail shop that had contracts with our local dealers for new and used car preps as well as off the street customers with their messes (gallon of oil based dried paint from hood to trunk was interesting).

My opinion is to avoid them, I had an industrial Black and Decker unit that could eat thru thin paint (corners or even curved areas) in seconds with a 100% non-abrasive wax.
Worse yet the concentric circles are imbedded into the clearcoat, your scratching the clear and providing fine lines that allow sunlight to refract off the lines of the car and these lines are easily visible. (ever notice a black new car owned by a non-car owner <notice gender neutral> on sunny day, paint can be a disaster in one wash).

I wax by hand in a front to back action, when hitting a new area, pull off the car and rehit to the new area, the dragging from one spot to another other than horizontal is where the trouble occurs.