Tach blinking

Discussion in 'SRT10 and SRT10 Coupe Discussions' started by Boxer12, Aug 11, 2012.

  1. Boxer12

    Boxer12 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,618
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Colorado High Country
    I don't know what else to say to describe this but my Tach has started blinking. Anyone else experience this? What should I look for as far as a cause? Sensor? Wiring? PCM? GEN IV w Mopar PCM. I don't notice a skip in the motor, it seems to be purely an electrical issue.
     
  2. ViperGeorge

    ViperGeorge Enthusiast

    Posts:
    2,248
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Greenwood Village, CO
    What is blinking? The arrow shift light? The back light on the tach? or is the needle moving around at random? Check the connections into the PCM, front left in engine compartment. There are three. I had one get loose and my tach needle would jump all over the place at times.

    Mind you that was on my old Gen 3, not sure if Gen 4 connections are the same.
     
  3. Thom

    Thom Viper Owner

    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Location:
    Southern Calif.
    I assume you mean the skip-shift light is blinking? This light also functions as a high-rpm light.

    Check to see if your skip-shift solenoid is working. If not, it may have become disconnected. Or, if you have a skip-shift eliminator connected in place of the solenoid, the eliminator may have become disconnected.
     
  4. Steve-Indy

    Steve-Indy VCA Member - Great Lakes

    Posts:
    7,879
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Location:
    Zionsville,IN. USA
    Jim, IF your car was a stock street Viper...I'd say check the battery first. This heat wave has been killing 1.5-2.0 year old batteries(prematurely) around here in ALL types of vehicles.
     
  5. Boxer12

    Boxer12 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,618
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Colorado High Country
    By blinking i mean the needle drops to 0 rpm for a quick second then back. I will double check the connections. I don't think it's the battery Steve since its not the entire elec system that blinks just the tach.
     
  6. Steve-Indy

    Steve-Indy VCA Member - Great Lakes

    Posts:
    7,879
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Location:
    Zionsville,IN. USA
    Thanks, Jim...my point was centered around ae misinterpretation of "blinking" on my part. I assumed it to mean tach needle jumping all around...often followed by spedo doing same thing...then, car goes dead...or at least won't restart.
     
  7. Hirkophoto

    Hirkophoto Viper Owner

    Age:
    48
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    So CAL
    Do you have or have you installed any new electronics suck as stereo equipment? I know the Mopar ipod adapter causes similar problems in some Vipers when installed.
     
  8. M_viper

    M_viper Viper Owner

    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    when I installed my ipod connector the tachometer wasn't blinking but rather too slow to catch up with the revs
     
  9. Steve-Indy

    Steve-Indy VCA Member - Great Lakes

    Posts:
    7,879
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Location:
    Zionsville,IN. USA
    Guys, I am confident that there is NO WAY Boxer 12 would have an i-pod installed in his track-only ACR....I hope !! :)
     
  10. Hirkophoto

    Hirkophoto Viper Owner

    Age:
    48
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    So CAL
    I don't know him so you never know.
     
  11. Boxer12

    Boxer12 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,618
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Colorado High Country
    Nothing new, and no ipod adaptor (its a Hardcore model). (Steve knows me well!) I guess its just a gremlin. :(
     
  12. Boxer12

    Boxer12 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,618
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Colorado High Country
    Ok, upon closer inspection, not only does the tack skip or jump or flutter, but so does the Speedo (simultaneously). I have checked all the connectors that seem obvious, like the ECU and anything in engine bay. I have no codes. You guys think an intermittent short somewhere like the O2 sensors could cause this? Need new ideas. Anyone?
     
  13. Allan

    Allan Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,546
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    La Junta Colorado 81050
    I have seen and repaired instrument clusters with similar symptoms. Didn't respond before cuz problem described seemed to be isolated to the tach only. Anyway, on other Chrysler vehicles, there has been an issue with the solder joint cracking for the ground circuit on the back of the printed circuit boards on some vehicles. This causes an intermittent or non-functioning gauges condition. This may or may not be your problem, but would be worth investigating if there are no other leads. To inspect/repair, you will have to remove the instrument cluster from the vehicle, and dis-assemble it to access the printed circuit board. The cracked solder joint will not be apparent to the naked eye. I have found that a strong magnifying glass will expose the cracks. -So the gauges will work when the circuit is making contact, and then it bugs-out when there is a little resistance or no contact on the ground circuit. -usually from vibration, like the road, or the motor running and shaking the car (in a Viper). .....hope this info helps. -Allan
     
  14. Boxer12

    Boxer12 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,618
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Colorado High Country
    Thanks, I will inspect/test the cluster further.
     

Share This Page