Towing Viper with a Jeep

George Farris

VCA Venom Member
Venom Member
Reaction score
Plan to tow Viper to VOI 8 with 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Will use a Sloan's Kwick Load flat bed. Does anyone have experience with this set-up?? Any advice or tips will be appreciated.

Can you tell I have never done this before??

Reaction score
George:

No problem with the Jeep. Here's the rig I used for a couple of years with no issues. This '98 Jeep has the 5.9L so it has more torque, but you should be fine.

2002TRAILER1.jpg

I'll be towing my Snake to VOI. Perhaps we'll cross paths when I drive through New Mexico.

OP
OP
George Farris

George Farris

VCA Venom Member
Venom Member
Reaction score
Great shot...Thankx, Greg. Will stay tuned on the trip...should be able to hook up.

Is there any formula for how much weight to put on the hitch?? or how high the hitch should be?

george

Dave T (BADVENM)

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I've got a '97 Dakota V8 that I tow my '01 with. My trailer is similar to gregs. I use a weight distribution hitch on mine but could probably get by without it. Other than 8 mpg towing I cant complain.

Joseph Dell

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I tow with a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee... no problems. I _did_ get an aluminum trailer b/c the capacity on the Jeep is only 6500 lbs... and my trailer _used_ to be 2200lbs empty. Add Viper that's ~5700. Add tires and tools, that's 6100. Add wife's shoes, that's 6400...

Aluminum trailer weighs 1400lbs empty. Makes life easier. How much does the sloan weigh empty?

JD

Bugeater

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have a 1999 4.7L and tow an enclosed trailer with the snake, and a sh1tton of tools and spare wheels and tires.
Roughly 7,500 pounds.

It can be done. Definately using an open trailer.

OP
OP
George Farris

George Farris

VCA Venom Member
Venom Member
Reaction score
Greg and Joe,

Thankx for taking extra time to give me advice and help. Think I can make it now.

DALLAS OR BUST!!!

Joseph Dell

Enthusiast
Reaction score