VCA Mobile Application

Discussion in 'Sneaky Pete's Place' started by Black Moon, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. Black Moon

    Black Moon Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,730
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Just downloaded the mobile app. for the forum.

    Runner, do I have to log in every time I open it? Seems like this process is going backwards and using this forum is getting more difficult than it was a month ago.

    I had the 'old layout' saved as a bookmark. You clicked on it and it opened with you logged in and there were all the new posts for your review at the top of the screen. Simple and easy. So simple I was doing most of my posting from my phone. Now I have to be at a pc to really utilize the entire site easily.
     
  2. plumcrazy

    plumcrazy Viper Owner

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    16,214
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    ALL OVER
    Replying now from the Droid app. So far I like it. Have not exited yet to test what blackmoon is talking about
     
  3. plumcrazy

    plumcrazy Viper Owner

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    16,214
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    ALL OVER
    works well but doesnt seem to update new posts and i dont see anywhere to do that.

    looks good though

    PS: apparently there is no signature when posting from it either. not that i care but thought you might wanna know
     
  4. Black Moon

    Black Moon Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,730
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    I forgot to mention that when I receive an email letting me know there is a thread response, pressing the link says 'error loading page'. It's been doing this for a couple of days. Works on pc but not on Evo phone.

    I'd really like to get that issue fixed.
     
  5. -RUNNR

    -RUNNR Site programmer

    Posts:
    1,944
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    District 4, Moon
    I've been logged in all day. I recall a "remember me" option, though I can't be sure.

    Make sure to hit the menu button on your phone, there's a lot of stuff there.

    I'll look into the emails.
     
  6. Black Moon

    Black Moon Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,730
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    No remember me with this phone unless its a bookmark. Got the same error loading message when trying to respond to this thread using the link in the email.
     
  7. jwolf

    jwolf Viper Owner

    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Location:
    Vincennes IN
    The Android App is working fine for me.
     
  8. Y2K5SRT

    Y2K5SRT VCA Member - West

    Posts:
    7,891
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 1999
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    I downloaded the Android app late Tuesday and it has been working flawlessly. I was a bit puzzled about how to change the view until I hit the menu button on the phone itself (Droid X2). Then it popped up several options including the forum views. I haven't had time to really dive into it much more than that, but I really like the icons for read/unread posts, the way the page numbers on longer threads show at the top, etc. No logout issues either, and I have open/closed it several times. Great stuff!
     
  9. 01sapphirebob

    01sapphirebob Enthusiast

    Posts:
    4,962
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    "OIHO"
    Will there be an app for the iPhone?? :)
     
  10. Black Moon

    Black Moon Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,730
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Still not remembering me.

    Also still getting 'error loading page' when I try to access a thread from an email update. Any progress on either?
     
  11. plumcrazy

    plumcrazy Viper Owner

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    16,214
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    ALL OVER
    i dont see a remember me option in the menu
     
  12. Black Moon

    Black Moon Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,730
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    No, you have to enter your user name and password every time. It's easier just using the site page as a bookmark in my browser. That remembers my info at least.
     
  13. plumcrazy

    plumcrazy Viper Owner

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    16,214
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    ALL OVER
    i have been hitting the home button and it keeps me logged in
     
  14. Black Moon

    Black Moon Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,730
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    I could do that but I was thinking it would affect my battery life staying logged in all day.

     
  15. plumcrazy

    plumcrazy Viper Owner

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    16,214
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    ALL OVER
    my battery life is horrific already, id probably never notice. but seriously, it hasnt seemed to change the life...YET
     
  16. ViperTony

    ViperTony Enthusiast

    Posts:
    7,555
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Not to get off subject but the battery life is beyond pathetic on the Android. I'm afraid to install anything else on it.
     
  17. -RUNNR

    -RUNNR Site programmer

    Posts:
    1,944
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    District 4, Moon
    It was my phone itself which remembered me, not the app.

    And yes, I know about the email notifications. Give me a chance to work on it?...
     
  18. -RUNNR

    -RUNNR Site programmer

    Posts:
    1,944
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    District 4, Moon
    Coming soon...
     
  19. plumcrazy

    plumcrazy Viper Owner

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    16,214
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    ALL OVER
    i had the droidX which had decent battery life. the thunderbolt i got 3 1/2 weeks ago is so much worse its not funny. on an average day by lunchtime its at like 35-40% and YES, i know all about the tips and tricks to help battery life...its pathetic. worse part is im on my 3rd phone and the reboots are what really piss me off, not battery life
     
  20. -RUNNR

    -RUNNR Site programmer

    Posts:
    1,944
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    District 4, Moon
    I just received an email with a notification, and the link worked perfectly.

     
  21. plumcrazy

    plumcrazy Viper Owner

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    16,214
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    ALL OVER
    just noticed when opening up the app it asked me if i wanted to enter the site. this was after not logging out and hitting the home button (a few hours ago)
     
  22. 01sapphirebob

    01sapphirebob Enthusiast

    Posts:
    4,962
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    "OIHO"
    :headbang::clap:
     
  23. jwolf

    jwolf Viper Owner

    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Location:
    Vincennes IN

    Mine will not stay logged on with the Viper App, If is go to the VCA site with the standard Browser it ask about remembering the password and it does, but the App doesn't,
    Is there something I need to do to get the Viper App to remember the app?
     
  24. anaconda666

    anaconda666 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Android app before iPhone??? Man you guys sure have things backwards down there:D
     
  25. Y2K5SRT

    Y2K5SRT VCA Member - West

    Posts:
    7,891
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 1999
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    Whenever I open the app it shows "Welcome, y2k5srt" at the very top with a "Logout" button to the right of it. It must show the most recent threads as a default, but they seem to be slightly behind the view when I open the forums themselves (about an hour behind). When I checked my running programs (go to settings on your phone), the VCA app was not running before I opened it so it must be retaining credentials some other way.

    As for the iPhone app, the club had to work from one of those Mac things to get it developed and didn't have one handy. PC guys - go figure. :D
     
  26. jwolf

    jwolf Viper Owner

    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Location:
    Vincennes IN
    mine opens
    ACA logo
    Usernane
    Password
    login

    after i Iogin I get the Welcome Jwolf logout screen.
     
  27. speedracervr4

    speedracervr4 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    The guys with crappy battery life might want to down load the task manager app (to kill apps that run all the time), If you havent done it already.
     
  28. jwolf

    jwolf Viper Owner

    Posts:
    696
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Location:
    Vincennes IN
    I figured the logout problem out.

    If I back out, it logs me off, it I log on then used the Task Manager to close the App it keeps me logged on.
     
  29. Real_Venom

    Real_Venom Viper Owner

    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Location:
    Newport News, VA
    Where is the link for this app or what can I search for in the app market? I have it installed on my droid phone but can't find it for my samsung tablet.
     
  30. VYPR BYT 94

    VYPR BYT 94 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,458
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Location:
    Green, OH
    follow this link...

    Apps by Viper Club of America, Inc.
     

Share This Page