08 GEN 4 No spark

SketchyPete

Enthusiast
Joined
May 15, 2022
Posts
25
Reaction score
0
Location
Concord NC
Hi all, new to the viper game aftering having made a sketchy transaction. Ignoring all that, the car has an incorrect battery hooked it and that is also on a charger.

Fuel was bad, disconnected line and drained it. Added fresh gas. Since it's a return style system, what was left should be diluted enough with good gas to not be a problem.

Key fob was dead, replaced battery. Door/unlock buttons now work. Held down both lock and unlock for 10-15 secs, no reaction from car.

I did notice when we plugged it up, that a red light flashed a few time under the rear view mirror, but I didn't think to much of it or count flashes.

Pulled plugs, they look good but do smell of old gas.

Pulled spark boots on 2 banks left and right, no spark.

When attempting to start, the key will cycle on, fuel pump cuts on and engine turns over for perhaps 3 secs or so and then stops trying to crank. Must recycle key to attempt another start.

I did the positive to negative battery connection discharge. No change.

I think there is some type of an anti-theft system that has the ignition shut down.

It could be the crankshaft or cam shaft position sensor. Ideas on testing those would be a big help.

If anyone knows how to reset the security system, I don't think I did that right or it's not working since no headlight flash response to the both fob buttons held down test. My the key has to be out of ignition or doors locked?

Any other suggestions would be helpful. Thanks for the help and support in advance!
 

proedge

Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 15, 2014
Posts
46
Reaction score
2
Not sure if the security system is your issue. My friend had a similar thing happen on his Gen 4. He thought he unlocked it, went to start it and the car fired up and then immediately died. On the next key cycles, it would not even crank. I told him to close all the doors/trunk/hood, lock the car from the fob and unlock it, then try start it. The car fired right up and stayed running.
My point is, if the anti-theft was engaged, your car would not crank at all.
 
OP
OP
S

SketchyPete

Enthusiast
Joined
May 15, 2022
Posts
25
Reaction score
0
Location
Concord NC
Big props to Steve for a personal phone call and tech sheets. What an asset to have on a forum, amazing!

Mystery continues as follows:

Cmp control dark brown / white
Ks2 white brown
Ks1 blue light green (so far as I can tell)
Ks2 dark blue yellow

These are the wires on the c3 connector that have electrical tape on them. Also I found a fuse or relay box of some sort with the cover off and what appears to be a relay missing.

If anyone could tell me that that box is and if there should be a relay there that would helpful
 

Attachments

  • gettyimages-458633525-612x612~2.jpg
    gettyimages-458633525-612x612~2.jpg
    73.3 KB · Views: 16
  • PXL_20220516_022930879.jpg
    PXL_20220516_022930879.jpg
    140.1 KB · Views: 15
  • PXL_20220516_010454921.NIGHT.jpg
    PXL_20220516_010454921.NIGHT.jpg
    135.6 KB · Views: 17
  • PXL_20220516_020513106.NIGHT.jpg
    PXL_20220516_020513106.NIGHT.jpg
    134.6 KB · Views: 18
OP
OP
S

SketchyPete

Enthusiast
Joined
May 15, 2022
Posts
25
Reaction score
0
Location
Concord NC
I think Steve and proedge are correct that is not security related.

I need to make a friend with good scan tool.
 

proedge

Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 15, 2014
Posts
46
Reaction score
2
Big props to Steve for a personal phone call and tech sheets. What an asset to have on a forum, amazing!

Mystery continues as follows:

Cmp control dark brown / white
Ks2 white brown
Ks1 blue light green (so far as I can tell)
Ks2 dark blue yellow

These are the wires on the c3 connector that have electrical tape on them. Also I found a fuse or relay box of some sort with the cover off and what appears to be a relay missing.

If anyone could tell me that that box is and if there should be a relay there that would helpful
That PCM looks like a used unit that came out of a junk yard or eBay. the "08 Viper" writing on it gives it away. Your issue might be that the VIN number on the PCM doesn't match the car. Like you said, you need a good scan tool
 
OP
OP
S

SketchyPete

Enthusiast
Joined
May 15, 2022
Posts
25
Reaction score
0
Location
Concord NC
Yes that's what we were thinking, it's clearly been removed.

Any idea about the relay box on the front passenger side?
 
OP
OP
S

SketchyPete

Enthusiast
Joined
May 15, 2022
Posts
25
Reaction score
0
Location
Concord NC
I found this YT video. Might be on to something. Apparently there was an old school method of swapping pins to use a different ecu, that doesn't work on something like this

 

proedge

Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 15, 2014
Posts
46
Reaction score
2
I'm not sure what those relays are on the Gen 4, they aren't there on a Gen 3. The only relay that could cause a no-spark issue is the ASD relay. Find it, it might be in the main fuse box. Try swapping it with another relay and see if that works.
 

BYAIC

Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 26, 2013
Posts
200
Reaction score
27
Turn the key to On and then to Off 3 times, stop in the On position on the 3rd turn, a code or codes may appear where the odometer is located. Install a correct battery.

Many times people throw new parts at a problem that they can’t figure out, that may be why you have replacement eBay items on the car. They may have installed a replacement CPS sensor too, you should look to see. Everything you are doing now was likely done by the previous owner and they gave up. You can save yourself a lot of time and money by towing the car to a dealership with a Viper Tech; it will probably cost $175 to diagnose but that charge is waived if you have them do the repair(s).
 
Last edited:

latamud

Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Posts
441
Reaction score
1
Location
Afghanistan
If it had old fuel in the lines it might also have clogged injectors. I often have to pull mine and unclog after sitting for a long time.


If you haven't replaced the battery just do it. But a battery tender at the same time and keep it connected when not in use. Vipers want a FULL charged battery. On my 08 I even have a permanently connected solar charger mounted on the package tray in the trunk so it gets charged even wen I'm out.

If you haven't checked, my guess is crank or cam position sensor, its on passenger side of the block by the engine mount, check to make sure its plugged in. Also they're like $35 at AutoZone and is not a bad idea to have a spare in the garage if that isn't what is wrong. The crank and cam sensor on an 08 has 3 wires going to it. 5v, ground and signal.

The cam sensor is under the intake manifold towards the rear of the engine.

You could tap into the crank signal and even cam signal at the ECM plugs to see if there is a signal when the engine is turning over.

ASD relay, my experience when this engages, the car will not even turn over.

I know you're frustrated and are already looking into the dealership. Good luck and purse update us whatever you find.
 
OP
OP
S

SketchyPete

Enthusiast
Joined
May 15, 2022
Posts
25
Reaction score
0
Location
Concord NC
Thanks Latamud, would you happen to know what pin/wires and which connector the cam and crank signal come in? I wonder if that it was the taped wires are about?

I've tried to keep calm on this deal. I bought it knowing it was going to be a problem, so I'm getting what I paid for.

As I get older, Steve and others advice makes alot of sense to me. I've done the waste my time stuff before, with electronics this complicated it's seems like a no brainer if I can get a viper tech to tell me everything wrong with it for $150.

I've been looking into getting a Windows 7 laptop and setting up witech and drb3. I may do that eventually anyway just because, but for my sanity getting (hopefully) most of the way there the easy way sounds really nice.

I may go through all this to also learn that it needs a rebuild.
 

Steve-Indy

VCA Venom Member
Venom Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2000
Posts
8,352
Reaction score
100
Location
Zionsville,IN. USA
Cam position sensor (CMP) signal is pin 22 of C1 connector of PCM...DarkBlue/Brown wire.

Crankshaft position sensor (CKP) signal is pin 25 of C1 connector...Light Blue/Brown wire.
 
OP
OP
S

SketchyPete

Enthusiast
Joined
May 15, 2022
Posts
25
Reaction score
0
Location
Concord NC
Awesome thanks Steve.

That's interesting. The wires that have tape out of c3 black/neutral are as follows:

Cmp control dark brown / white
Ks2 white brown
Ks1 blue light green (so far as I can tell)
Ks2 dark blue yellow

Cmp seems cam related then, no idea what ks wires control.
 
OP
OP
S

SketchyPete

Enthusiast
Joined
May 15, 2022
Posts
25
Reaction score
0
Location
Concord NC
Here's my update, with no update. It's too damned hot! I'm still around though if anyone comes up with mean time suggestions.
 

Latest posts

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
152,315
Posts
1,675,554
Members
16,717
Latest member
RT-10 Speedster
Top