2004 Smog Test. OBD Report continues stating that "Catalyst, Evaporative System, Oxygen Sensor Heater, & Oxygen Sensor has not completed this test".

12Fast

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 8, 2021
Posts
7
Reaction score
0
Location
Germantown, Wisconsin
Put factory exhaust manifold back on with all (4) factory cats to pass the Wisconsin emissions test. I understand when the battery is disconnected the ECU resets and prior smog data gets erased. Have driven over 150 miles since reset. Any suggestions?
 

Attachments

  • 1B3JZ65Z24V101751_smogcheck_2022_08_02_03-11-2.pdf
    92.6 KB · Views: 5

BYAIC

Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 26, 2013
Posts
200
Reaction score
27
Your battery may be on its last leg. A weak battery will clear the memory upon each and every fresh start of the engine; you can drive the car for hours but if you shut it off when you arrive at the inspection station then when it’s restarted the memory will be cleared.

Also, after checking (and presumably replacing the battery) take it out on the freeway and drop it into 6th gear for a few miles and then coast off of your exit ramp to a stop. This process clears one of those codes that is hard to get set.
 
OP
OP
1

12Fast

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 8, 2021
Posts
7
Reaction score
0
Location
Germantown, Wisconsin
Thanks for the suggestions. Not sure how old the battery is. I keep it on trickle charge, but not sure of voltage state. Made an appointment with my local Chrysler dealer / Viper service center, to check the ECU to make sure it is not misbehaving. Discovered the Wisconsin DOT has no patience for under achieving ECU's, regardless of how compliant your emissions hardware is. Thanks again for the great suggestions my friend!
 

Viper Swag

Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Posts
47
Reaction score
4
Location
Stockton, CA
Thanks for the suggestions. Not sure how old the battery is. I keep it on trickle charge, but not sure of voltage state. Made an appointment with my local Chrysler dealer / Viper service center, to check the ECU to make sure it is not misbehaving. Discovered the Wisconsin DOT has no patience for under achieving ECU's, regardless of how compliant your emissions hardware is. Thanks again for the great suggestions my friend!
 

MoparMap

VCA National President
VCA Officer
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Posts
2,098
Reaction score
151
Location
Kansas
I think sometimes it takes multiple run cycles to set those checks as well, not just straight mileage. So a single 150 mile trip for instance may not do it as I think one of the evap checks is actually done when the car is off (evap pump runs to pressurize fuel tank and check for vapor leaks I believe). I don't recall off the top of my head how many cycles it might take though. May have to get out my service manual and see if it says anything in there.
 
OP
OP
1

12Fast

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 8, 2021
Posts
7
Reaction score
0
Location
Germantown, Wisconsin
Quick question did you install new O2 sensors as well? May not be a bad idea
I think sometimes it takes multiple run cycles to set those checks as well, not just straight mileage. So a single 150 mile trip for instance may not do it as I think one of the evap checks is actually done when the car is off (evap pump runs to pressurize fuel tank and check for vapor leaks I believe). I don't recall off the top of my head how many cycles it might take though. May have to get out my service manual and see if it says anything in there.
I run 20-30 miles on each hop, vary speed, rpm. Seems I’ve tried every mathematical combination of those factors. Thx for the input!
 
OP
OP
1

12Fast

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 8, 2021
Posts
7
Reaction score
0
Location
Germantown, Wisconsin
Quick question did you install new O2 sensors as well? May not be a bad idea
Yes, 6 times so far. My performance configuration with ARHeaders pushed the HF cat in front of the mufflers and smoked the lead wires routinely. ….Even after wrapping in 2500 degree titanium wrap! Thx for the thoughts. Now back to factory setup.
 

MoparMap

VCA National President
VCA Officer
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Posts
2,098
Reaction score
151
Location
Kansas
Wow, that's a stubborn car. I guess you could do a full tune up with new plugs and maybe run a bottle of injector cleaner through it or something as well. I think you've pretty well hit all the nails on the head I could think of at this point. I wonder if the adaptives for the tune has just gotten far enough off while running the headers that it's taking time to bring them back in line? A full computer reset should have reset those though, so I guess maybe not now that I think about it.
 
OP
OP
1

12Fast

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 8, 2021
Posts
7
Reaction score
0
Location
Germantown, Wisconsin
Wow, that's a stubborn car. I guess you could do a full tune up with new plugs and maybe run a bottle of injector cleaner through it or something as well. I think you've pretty well hit all the nails on the head I could think of at this point. I wonder if the adaptives for the tune has just gotten far enough off while running the headers that it's taking time to bring them back in line? A full computer reset should have reset those though, so I guess maybe not now that I think about it.
Stubborn may be an understatement! Car has 8800 miles on it. At 7500 it went to AC Performance for heads and cam tune....AR Headers / HF Cats. Since it wouldn't pass emissions, I have put stock exhaust back on ahead of the mufflers, reset the tune back to factory stock, hoping that was the problem with no luck thus far. Have an appt tomorrow with the Chrysler Dealer to check the ECU. Stay tuned! :)
 

BYAIC

Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 26, 2013
Posts
200
Reaction score
27
Usually the dealer will charge for their time diagnosing, probably an hour @ $180.00. If you have the diagnostic tool, or if you have access to one at a store like Auto Zone, drive the car for 25 minutes (including the 6th gear trick on the freeway). Don’t shut the car off! Plug in the scanner and see what you get. This test is essentially free.

All of your systems are currently showing incomplete, that points to your memory being cleared on each new start of the car. I went through this myself, the battery was at fault. Replaced it and the drama was over.
 

MoparMap

VCA National President
VCA Officer
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Posts
2,098
Reaction score
151
Location
Kansas
I'd wonder if the cam might have something to do with it as well. I did a cam on my car and briefly put the rear cats back in to try to tame the noise a bit and they ran so hot I ended up taking them back off because I was scared of melting stuff. I wonder if the full factory system can keep up with your increased flow.
 

redtanrt10

Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Posts
1,636
Reaction score
27
Location
Dana Point CA
12Fast, I understand your issue and I've been there before!!!

I sold an '08 ACR that had headers and the Mopar Venom ECU. I pulled the ECU and went back to stock, I put 300 miles on it driving all kinds of ways to get it to read "ready" with no luck and a buyer who was about to back out because I couldn't pass CA smog due to "readiness" of the ECU.

I did some research and found the correct Chrysler Drive Cycle routine. In 10 miles following the steps it was "ready" and the car passed. If Todd at A&C tweaked your OEM ECU then you might have an issue.

Try this drive cycle routine, its not the one I remember doing but the internet shows this to be a good procedure. Best wishes and good luck!! Mike

 

Viper Swag

Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Posts
47
Reaction score
4
Location
Stockton, CA
Stubborn may be an understatement! Car has 8800 miles on it. At 7500 it went to AC Performance for heads and cam tune....AR Headers / HF Cats. Since it wouldn't pass emissions, I have put stock exhaust back on ahead of the mufflers, reset the tune back to factory stock, hoping that was the problem with no luck thus far. Have an appt tomorrow with the Chrysler Dealer to check the ECU. Stay tuned! :)
May I suggest kooks green cats?
 

Viper Swag

Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Posts
47
Reaction score
4
Location
Stockton, CA

Viper Specialty

Legacy/Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Posts
5,618
Reaction score
8
Location
Port Charlotte, FL
Getting the vast majority of Head/Cam cars with even remotely decent sized cams in them to pass emissions and NOT eat converters in the process is generally an exercise in futility.
Also, depending on what was changed, your module may no longer be capable of passing an OBD2 plug-in with monitors intact.
 

hlieber50

Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Posts
42
Reaction score
2
When I 1st got my '05 I had that issue. It was the upstream O2 caused by a cracked driver side header
 

Latest posts

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
152,308
Posts
1,675,509
Members
16,710
Latest member
Dan-o
Top