94 Viper anti theft lock out

Discussion in 'RT/10 and GTS Discussions' started by venom94, Apr 29, 2013.

  1. venom94

    venom94 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Went to start the car yesterday and anti theft would not allow. Battery seemed a little low but still started briefly. Remote does not work. Any ideas?
     
  2. klamathpro

    klamathpro Viper Owner

    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Location:
    Detroit
    Charge or change your battery.
     
  3. impalassed

    impalassed Viper Owner

    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Location:
    Natchez MS
    Same issue I had with my 94. I removed the SAM from its mount and let it dangle. Viper started every time. Put it back and car would not start. Suspected the harness when mounted was pulling ever so slightly on the circuit board connector in just the right way to cause a bad connection. When left dangling it would not. SAM removed. Car starts every time now.
     
  4. VYPR BYT 94

    VYPR BYT 94 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,458
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Location:
    Green, OH
    If your battery is more than a few years old... just get a new one and be done with it.
    These cars have been known to get into the dreaded "security lockout loop" when the battery goes too low... at which point you tow it a viper tech so he can un-program it then re-program it.
     
  5. s55c

    s55c Viper Owner

    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    yea I programed mine with a ball pean hammer now it never gives me a problem.... :drive:
     
  6. Steve-Indy

    Steve-Indy VCA Venom Member - Great Lakes

    Posts:
    7,956
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Location:
    Zionsville,IN. USA
    venom94, glad you solved the problem. However, may I respectfully suggest that you modify your post to delete the critical info on the alarm disable. If not, I suspect that the Moderators will delete it at some point. REMEMBER, this is an open forum read by anyone...including car crooks.
     
  7. Steve-Indy

    Steve-Indy VCA Venom Member - Great Lakes

    Posts:
    7,956
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Location:
    Zionsville,IN. USA
    MODERATORS ??
     
  8. jdeft1

    jdeft1 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,394
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Metropolis
    LOL, and I fumbled for three days... Wanna know another solution? I have It. but I ain't tellin'.... haha
     
  9. DJ'sviper

    DJ'sviper Viper Owner

    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    I just put in a new battery. It was only two years old. The good news it has a two year exchange policy if something is wrong. Battery would not hold a charge anymore. Tried everthing first to by pass the securty, even the 20 times on the ignition. Remember to hit your key fob to unlock first after you change your battery or it will go into the securtiy mode again. I have never had to go to a tech to get it reprogramed. Sounds like a waste of money.
     
  10. venom94

    venom94 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Moderators?? You think your funny? Don't you have something better to do?
     
  11. venom94

    venom94 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    I fumbled for one day. Found a solution but I can't tell on this forum. You get turned in to the moderators and deleted.
     
  12. David Western

    David Western Enthusiast

    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Location:
    Hawaii Island, Hawaii
    Aloha from the land of earthquakes, volcanoes, tsunamis, hurricanes, and Vipers that won't start. I am having the security engine start disabled issue on my 94 RT10. New battery installed and new battery in key fob. I would be most appreciative if anyone can tell me how to disable the alarm so that I never have to deal with it again. I bought the car a year ago after it was wrecked. I am a self employed semi retired old coot who just want's to drive my car before I'm dead! Thanks guys.

    20170510_195839.jpg
     
  13. Steve-Indy

    Steve-Indy VCA Venom Member - Great Lakes

    Posts:
    7,956
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Location:
    Zionsville,IN. USA
    In a stock, undamaged Gen I Viper, this is easy to do. Once one has modified the wiring or done a wreck rebuild, the success rate may be less.

    Does the alarm work now?

    Feel free to call me, noting that I am on EDT...AND, am also an " retired old coot" that goes to bed early. 317-402-9013
     
  14. David Western

    David Western Enthusiast

    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Location:
    Hawaii Island, Hawaii
    Hat tip Steve-Indy, apparently the problem is with the clutch switch alignment. She's starting and running. Oddly...I do not hear the fuel pump. In any event, my enthusiasm for restoring the car has returned!
     
    ViperJeff likes this.
  15. Steve-Indy

    Steve-Indy VCA Venom Member - Great Lakes

    Posts:
    7,956
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Location:
    Zionsville,IN. USA
    Great to hear that you solved it. Best regards !!
     
    David Western likes this.

Share This Page