Blending GTS blue?

Bugman Jeff

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I just bought my first Viper, a Blue/White1997 GTS :) It needs a bit of paint repair, enough that I'll have to respray parts of it. I'm a fairly accomplished painter and I'll be doing the work myself. I know metallics and pearls often don't blend well. My question is will the GTS Blue blend well enough to spot in, or will I have to paint the whole side of the car up to the stripe to get it looking good? Thanks for the help.

bluesrt

Enthusiast
Reaction score
gts blue is workable color- but it also depends on the name brand color you choose for a good match,and i dont know what one is best, but i do know that you can just paint the panel in that color and get a perfect match,cuz iv seen it in action

Ron

Enthusiast
Reaction score
AkzoNobel was the original paint manufacturer and Sikkens is the retail brand of the same paint. I had my side sills redone with two other brands of GTS Blue and they weren't even close. Convinced body shop to use Sikkens on the 3rd try and it was dead on.

OP
OP
B

Bugman Jeff

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Thanks for the info. One more question, is it originally a three stage base-pearl-clear paint, or it standard two stage base-clear?

Dom426h

Enthusiast
Reaction score
No matter how exact of a match the paint is, Even if it comes from the SAME can, It will not match unless you get lucky or have some skill that i am not personaly aware of.

The main problem is the angle of how the metalic lies. Look at GTS blue from one angle, then take a few steps to the left or right and see the paint get lighter or darker depending on the angle of the light source and how it is reflecting off of the metalic in the paint to your eyes.
Also, the depth of the metalic(how thick/how many coats), and the base coat can both change the final finish.

blurb from wiki: