1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronic Throttle Control fault ETC

Discussion in 'SRT10 and SRT10 Coupe Discussions' started by RikRok, Jul 5, 2020.

  1. RikRok

    RikRok Viper Owner

    Posts:
    261
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Has anyone here encountered this fault. The ETC fault light went on and the throttle went mostly dead. I drove it into a parking lot and turned it off. After restarting it, all was fine. It has happened a few time since. No pattern to it. Check engine light has not came on.I don't mind chasing an issue, but don't know where to start. Last option for me is to wait until it happens again, then get it to a tech. Any help. 2008 Coupe.
    Thanks
    Rick


    Throttle_Control_Bolt.jpg
     
  2. Steve-Indy

    Steve-Indy VCA Venom Member Venom Member

    Posts:
    8,108
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Location:
    Zionsville,IN. USA
    My Sunday night GUESSES:

    As I recall, disconnecting battery (or a bad connection to battery) or low voltage can cause the "Lightning bolt" symbol to appear. It may not have turned on the CEL/MIL but there may be a pending code that one could read.

    I would inspect battery, check voltage at battery AND at PDC up front. Inspect battery cables for solid connection, corrosion, and check to see that cables are still securely attached to the connectors. Also, be sure that the red plastic cover over the positive
    terminal
    is intact with no evidence of shorting on the battery cover.

    Next...with the negative battery terminal disconnected...I would unplug and re-plug in the 4 PCM connectors. Then, reconnect battery and start engine...expecting the "lightning bolt" again until you have done a couple of run cycles.

    For more reading, see below from the 2009 Viper Service Manual on CD.


    ‐‐-‐-------------------------
    P2610-PCM INTERNAL SHUTDOWN TIMER RATIONALITY TOO FAST

    For a complete wiring diagram Refer to the Wiring Information.

    Theory of Operation
    The PCM shutdown timer is compared with the main processor timer shortly after the engine has started. If there is a difference between the two timers, then a fault is set. This is a two trip fault to set the MIL. If the battery is disconnected for more than 60 seconds then the power supply that maintains the shutdown timer is lost, and so a pending fault will be set the next time the battery is re-connected and the PCM powered up.

    1. When Monitored:
      On power up, the check is made for the battery disconnect, and then 5 seconds after the engine has started the timer check is evaluated.

    2. Set Condition:
      A greater than 60 second battery disconnect or a difference between the two internal PCM timers. Two trip fault. Three good trips to turn off the MIL.


    Possible Causes
    BATTERY DISCONNECTS OF GREATER THAN 60 SECONDS (FOR PENDING FAULT)
    FULLY DISCHARGED BATTERY (LESS THAN 2.5 VOLTS)
    POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE (PCM) SOFTWARE UPDATE
    EXCESSIVE RESISTANCE IN THE PCM POWER OR GROUND CIRCUITS
    POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE (PCM)
    Always perform the Pre-Diagnostic Troubleshooting procedure before proceeding. (Refer to 28 - DTC-Based Diagnostics/MODULE, Powertrain Control (PCM) - Standard Procedure).


    1. ACTIVE DTC




    NOTE: Diagnose and repair any other DTCs set in the PCM before proceeding with this test.

    1. Turn the ignition on.
    2. With the scan tool, Clear DTCs in the Powertrain Control Module (PCM).
    3. Start the engine and allow it to reach operating temperature.

    WARNING: When the engine is operating, do not stand in direct line with the fan. Do not put your hands near the pulleys, belts or fan. Do not wear loose clothing. Failure to follow these instructions may result in possible serious or fatal injury.
    4. With the scan tool, select View DTCs.


    Is the DTC Active at this time?

    Yes
    1. Go To 2

    No
    1. Refer to the INTERMITTENT CONDITION Diagnostic Procedure. (Refer to 28 - DTC-Based Diagnostics/MODULE, Powertrain Control (PCM) - Standard Procedure)

    2. PCM IGNITION CIRCUIT

    1. Turn the ignition off.
    2. Disconnect the C1 PCM harness connector.

    CAUTION: Do not probe the PCM harness connectors. Probing the PCM harness connectors will damage the PCM terminals resulting in poor terminal to pin connection. Install PCM Pinout Box 8815 to perform diagnosis.
    3. With a 12-volt test light connected to ground probe the (F1) Fused Ignition Switch circuit.
    4. Perform the above check with the Ignition key in the off lock position, Ignition on, engine not running position, and during cranking.
    5. Wiggle the related wire harness while probing the special tool with the test light to try to interrupt the circuit.


    Does the test light illuminate brightly?

    Yes
    1. Go To 3

    No
    1. Repair the open or excessive resistance in the (F1) Fused Ignition Switch circuit. Inspect the related fuse, if the fuse is open check the circuits for a short to ground.
    2. Perform the PCM Verification Test. (Refer to 28 - DTC-Based Diagnostics/MODULE, Powertrain Control (PCM) - Standard Procedure)

    3. POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE (PCM)

    1. Verify that the PCM is operating at the latest software version available.
    2. Refer to any Technical Service Bulletins that may apply.


    Were any problems found?

    Yes
    1. Repair as necessary.
    2. Perform the PCM Verification Test. (Refer to 28 - DTC-Based Diagnostics/MODULE, Powertrain Control (PCM) - Standard Procedure)

    No
    1. Replace and program the Powertrain Control Module (PCM) in accordance with the Service Information.
    2. Perform the PCM Verification Test. (Refer to 28 - DTC-Based Diagnostics/MODULE, Powertrain Control (PCM) - Standard Procedure)
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2020
    MichaelJB likes this.
  3. Twinturbosd

    Twinturbosd Enthusiast

    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Excellent....
    I have all the book manuals luckily I haven’t had this occur yet....;)

    glad to see the answers in there...
     
  4. KC4SSD

    KC4SSD Enthusiast

    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Location:
    Naples Florida
    OK I have a 2009 SRT 10 ACR and pulled my hair out trying to fix the identical issue. We ohmed out everything from one end to the other, upgraded to enlarged throttle bodies, went on for months. I was ready to burn the damn car. After much dismay we found one of the small power relays intermittent that powers to individual throttle bodies not send power to one of them. $11 part! Replace both of them now and maybe never an issue again! There is 2 completely different power circuits for each side of the engine.

    Tim
     
  5. 3whitevipers

    3whitevipers VCA Venom Member Venom Member

    Posts:
    662
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    Sarasota, Fl
    Been through this before--in mine it was a relay--ASD# 1 and #2. These relays are clearly marked on the fuse box lid--I replaced both although only one controls the electronic throttle--can't remember which one.

    Apparently the Gen 4's have notoriously bad relays--at least some do.

    Try this as it's a cheap fix.

    I've also had to replace the relays that control the fuel pump and the A/C.

    I bought 10 relays on line for about $25.00

    Hope that this helps--Dave
     
  6. littlecaars

    littlecaars VCA Member VCA Member

    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Location:
    mohnto, pa.
    OK guys, I had the same problem with my 08. About six months ago I was driving along and I had a pretty decent bump.got out of the car And no damage. About 40 miles later I got the throttle plate light with the same symptoms everybody described. After $400 of diagnose to no avail my mechanic got lucky. Around the fuse But there is a multi terminal pin connector that we found partially open. Closed it up and no more problem. Hope this helps.
     
  7. RikRok

    RikRok Viper Owner

    Posts:
    261
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Thanks gus. You gave me a starting point. I just put a fresh battery in for some other issues. I am going to change the 2 ASD relays. I just had to replace the horn and the ac clutch ones. Quick question. 1 ASD relay is a 4 blade and the other is a 5. Does this make any difference. I cant see the connection for the 5 blade in either socket.
     

Share This Page