Interesting Computation

Sennahnamrecken

Enthusiast
Joined
May 9, 2020
Posts
27
Reaction score
3
Location
3400 N. Ocean Dr. West Palm Beach FL 33404
I have a 2008 SRT 10 and ran low on fuel. The light just came on. I took gas at the first Station 4 Gal. moved 10 Miles on to the better gas station and took another 14 Gal. This amounts to 18 Gal. in my 16 Gal. tank with 10 Miles driven. Even if I ended up at the 1. gas station on fumes it still does not add up, since I did not use 2 Gal. for 10 Miles. Anybody has an idea?

Another Problem: The same day after refueling, the electronic throttle control light came on. Admitting my ignorance, I crawled home to take a look at the owner's manual. There it was, I just had to shut the car down and restart it, which I did at home. The car works fine, but the check engine light stays on, since I had an incident, I guess. Since I am in the boonies, Miles away from the next Viper service, is there a way, I can get rid of the "check engine" light myself without going to the next service station some 120 Miles away?
I shipped my car from FL for the summer to Up-State NY which is Viper waste land.
Any comments without referring to my stupidity would be appreciated.
 

Steve-Indy

VCA Venom Member
Venom Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2000
Posts
8,206
Reaction score
60
Location
Zionsville,IN. USA
Sorry for your troubles...and, though I am not sure what is going on with your car...I do have a suggestion or two.

You can complete a couple of more full drive cycles to see if the CEL goes off.

OR

Purchase a low cost CAN bus capable OBD II code reader that will read and clear codes. Make a list of the generic P-codes then clear the codes. These tools cost about $40.OO to $60.00 US.

I carry one of these tools in ALL of our cars...not just Vipers. Once you clear the code, you should be able to get out of limp mode if that is also an issue.

As stated, keep the list of codes so that you can seek proper advice from your technician.

Best regards !
 

MoparMap

VCA National President
Venom Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Posts
1,845
Reaction score
96
Location
Kansas
Does the gen 4 really only have a 16 gallon tank? I know that's what Google shows when searching, but my 2004 service manual states an 18.5 gallon tank. I find it odd the gen 4 would have gotten smaller as the chassis really didn't change, but I guess evap stuff might have changed for emissions and taken up more space. Still inclined to believe it's really an 18 gallon tank though, which would make your math work out better.
 

ViperJeff

VCA Legacy Member - UT/AZ
Joined
Sep 26, 2010
Posts
4,045
Reaction score
79
Location
Idaho
Looked at a few equipment lists for Gen 4, they all said 16 gallon
 

MoparMap

VCA National President
Venom Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Posts
1,845
Reaction score
96
Location
Kansas
Hmm, well, for what it's worth the part numbers for the two are basically the same. Just double checked my manuals and the letter at the end of the number changed, but that's typically just revisions and I wouldn't expect a capacity change to be a revision (it would most likely be a whole new number), but could be wrong. The 04 manual shows AC at the end, but the 2008 has AG. The gen 5 shows the same 16 gallons though as well. Based on how you filled it though it seems like it would have to be the bigger of the two and the internet is wrong in lots of places, lol.
 

70mopars

Enthusiast
Joined
May 6, 2018
Posts
13
Reaction score
1
Location
South Florida
Maybe the gas station pumps need to be calibrated. Or it's intentional to make a higher profit. ;-)
 
Top