Power Window Issue

04BlackSRT10

Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Posts
16
Reaction score
1
Location
USA
Ever since I bought my car, neither of the power windows will automatically roll up to seat inside the window seal when you close the door. They do roll down the small amount when you open the door, but I always have to then hold the switch to push them back up when I close the door. They also have never had the auto-down feature when pushed to the second detent. I've done the "hold up/down for 5 seconds" window relearn sequence a million times with no effect whatsoever. Does anyone know if this is a Body Control Module issue or a window regulator problem?
 

MoparMap

VCA National President
VCA Officer
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Posts
2,059
Reaction score
140
Location
Kansas
Sounds more like a BCM issue to me unfortunately. You might be able to get it reflashed if you can find a dealer that still has the equipment to do it. I thought I remembered reading about an update that addressed window issues. Even if you have the latest and greatest firmware on it though there's always a chance something is just a little funky. I don't think the regulator carries any kind of computer module or anything like that. Pretty sure it's just a motor and the BCM does the current monitoring to determine if the window is at a limit. I've had mine go whacky once where it didn't matter if you pressed the switch up or down, the window only went up, but if you pressed it to the auto down detent it would go down. It randomly fixed itself one day though. Maybe try unplugging the battery and letting it sit for a while to clear everything out just for the heck of it? Never know if a hard reset like that might do something.
 
OP
OP
0

04BlackSRT10

Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Posts
16
Reaction score
1
Location
USA
Yeah, I figured it was probably a BCM issue. It would be very weird for both regulators to fail in the exact same way, and the motors do indeed work fine up and down. I've had the battery both replaced recently and also disconnected for an extended time when I replaced the alternator. Same issue, so I probably just need to get that firmware update if possible. Hopefully that's all that's required.
 

viperfest

Enthusiast
Joined
May 12, 2022
Posts
1
Reaction score
0
Location
va
My body shop man had to adjust the timer on my 08 coup window. Works great now...
 

MoparMap

VCA National President
VCA Officer
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Posts
2,059
Reaction score
140
Location
Kansas
Whereabouts in the US are you? If you happened to be anywhere near Kansas City I have a DRB III with the latest flash files I think, so I could try pushing an update through to see if it makes any difference.
 
OP
OP
0

04BlackSRT10

Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Posts
16
Reaction score
1
Location
USA
Thank you for the offer, but I live in VA, so that would be quite the drive, haha.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
152,214
Posts
1,674,936
Members
16,591
Latest member
EastAtlantaSanta
Top