rear brake pads, how much should I pay at dealer?

RayG

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey guys!
I just finally registered my GTS that I bought a few months ago. The first thing I wanted to do was get an oil change and I had to get an inspection sticker. Hours later they tell me my rear brake pads are 70% worn! Since when do they check brake pads for an inspection sticker? Anyway they quoted me $400 to do the rear pads. That sounds terribly high to me but this is my first Viper. What have you guys paid at the dealerships? Thanks!

Casey

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Call our Viper Vendors here! $400 for pads, WHAT??

Simple to do your self! Might take an hour if you clean up real good while your at it! :2tu:

If you are driving on the street only, you might want to get EBC Greens all around. NO dust, no noise.

OP
OP
R

RayG

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I'd love to go to Chuck Tator's but he's too far away. As for doing it myself, I've never done brake pads before and this is not the car I want to learn on! I just need to know if all dealers are going to charge that much and how much some other people are paying.

4207henri

Enthusiast
Reaction score
why don't you try a local shop that you trust to do the pads instead of the dealer? The pads are real easy to do, but if you can't do it, any mechanic can do it probally for less than half that price for front and back pads

94RT10Ohio

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I'd love to go to Chuck Tator's but he's too far away. As for doing it myself, I've never done brake pads before and this is not the car I want to learn on! I just need to know if all dealers are going to charge that much and how much some other people are paying.