Ron Fellows ZR1 School, Spring Mountain?

VENOM V

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm thinking of taking my track skills up a notch, while I'm waiting for my Gen V to arrive. I'm a relative rookie. I've autocrossed a few times, and have tracked a Corvette at Spring Mountain and an R8 at Sonoma.

Has anyone attended Ron Fellows ZR1 school, at Spring Mountain? When I tracked the Corvette there about six or seven years ago, I had a blast! Now they've completely revamped the place with the Ron Fellows school, and the place looks like a resort- condos, swimming pool, clubhouse, even a spa, LOL.

I'm thinking of the 2-day school, anyone done it? Any feedback?

I'm also wondering if I should invest in some driving shoes. Thoughts over tennis shoes?

Thanks!

Steve M

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I did the 3 day (level 1) school a couple years back for my 30th birthday...I did not pay for the ZR1 school, so I drove Grand Sports and ZO6s for those three days (which are more than enough for that track with my skill level). We stayed in one of the condos there, which was very nice.

Unless they've changed something, they won't let you drive in anything other than driving shoes, so you'll need a pair.

I'd like to go back and take the 2-day level 2 school, but just haven't had enough time to get back out there.

The thing I liked is that there was a lot of seat time...within the first hour, we were out in the paddock area in a Corvette doing braking exercises (abrupt lane changes with ABS vs. no ABS on the wet skid pad). Lots of time spent practicing heel-toe downshifting, some time on the wet skid pad learning skid control, and a good few hours of track time over those three days.