Selection of insurance - Geico versus State Farm

Hans Christian

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Just a quick question, if I may. As it soon will be time for finding the right insurance for my 04 SRT I now come to the ORACLE. Any of you have suggestions and what price range is acceptable here in south florida. I currently have state farm – they want about 1100/half year. I have also checked with Geico and they are about the same but they would accept an agreed value of the car for 80,000 which state farm wouldn’t i.e. should a total happen, then there will be no discussion of the value.

However, I have no experience with Geico and them honoring claims (neither with state farm for that matter)

NB: I have no accidents and no tickets

Any pointers or suggestions would be highly appreciated.

CitySnake

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I use Geico by have not had a claim. They have an EXCELLENT claims reputation and first class customer service. Nice to hear, but all second hand info.

dwhitt

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I have used State Farm for 10 plus years - have owned (3) Vipers - pay $900 per year on my 2002 GTS

no tickets or wrecks in last 12 years or so

Steve Ferguson

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hans, ask for a "describtion of benefits" and then compare them too each other. That is the only way you can determine which policy serves you best.

obaa996

Enthusiast
Reaction score
One thing about Geico...they will take some of the $$$ they earn, and donate it to local PDs in the form of radar guns. While it's good to promote safety, it seems a bit self-serving given the rate hikes for speeding tickets...