wanna be racer in the off season

F8L SNK

Enthusiast
Reaction score
So what does a wanna be racer do over the off season? Practice is good so I thought I would make a practice simulator.

Please forgive the welds, I am new to welding, this is my first project and I am self teaching myself to weld. I am starting with the Mig then I will move to the Tig.

Anyway, I ordered up a Fanatec CSR Elite steering wheel, Elite pedals and a 6 speed shifter to begin my project. I found a great deal on a Racetech seat from Lux Racing and decided to put it all together. I was going to make a generic set up then decided to go a little further. This simulator is the exact inside dimension as a Viper. I have even placed the pedals in the exact stagger and spacing. I still have to modify the pedal faces themselves as they are too large. The seat and steering wheel are also in the exact position as the Viper. This way I can get as much reality as possible. Well until I add the full motion to this set up. That will come later however.

I have sheet metal work and powder coating still to go but I wanted to get everything mocked up first. I will also build a 3 monitor stand to go with this. I plan to use forza, iracing and rfactor. If you notice the transmission tunnel is the exact height and the shifter is in the exact place and this configuration will allow me to put the computer underneath.

I put this in the Viper Racing section as it made the most sense.

You must be registered for see images attach

It will also accept a stock seat and slider!

hou99gts

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Awesome Tim!!! Now where is the cup holder for your adult beverage while driving???? :D

(oops, that is me wanting that cup holder for my setup)... :)

AZTVR

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I love it, except that you really should have a roll bar on that thing if you are going to be doing some serious racing !!!!

OP
OP
F

F8L SNK

Enthusiast
Reaction score