Wanted gen2 RT/10 hard top ...... a damaged top is ok

Discussion in 'RT/10 and GTS Discussions' started by 1TONY1, Jun 3, 2003.

  1. 1TONY1

    1TONY1 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    5,661
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Location:
    Dalton Ga. (Chatt. Tn.)
    Need to do some modding on a gen2 RT/10 hard top so a damaged top may work. Cracked, busted, whatever.
     
  2. Jason-Middle Tennessee

    Jason-Middle Tennessee Enthusiast

    Posts:
    1,789
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Try calling Prashant Patel in Houston or Jon B at Partsrack.com Tony!!
     
  3. HP

    HP Enthusiast

    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Location:
    Little Rock,AR,USA
    Tony, is this a secret project than can only be unveiled to the public- when, and if, it turns out right?
     
  4. RedGTS

    RedGTS Enthusiast

    Posts:
    1,141
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Wife getting a customized replacement? :)
     
  5. Kevin Stitely

    Kevin Stitely Enthusiast

    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Location:
    Huntingtown, MD USA
    Tony,
    I have an xtra hardtop that may work for you. It's a standard mopar hardtop. If interested, send an email message to [email protected] I have several photos that I can forward that shows the condition (i.e., light damage).
     
  6. 1TONY1

    1TONY1 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    5,661
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Location:
    Dalton Ga. (Chatt. Tn.)
    No secret. I just need to fix her something that will fit in the trunk that a lady can actually install....quickly and in the rain if need be. I would rather buy something but nobody has stepped up to the plate. As usual....if you want something done...do it yourself.
     
  7. HP

    HP Enthusiast

    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Location:
    Little Rock,AR,USA
    Go Tony - but you're required to post the outcome - unless the details
    are covered under a patent. :smirk:
     
  8. ViperJoe

    ViperJoe Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,975
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2001
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ah ha, 1T1..... That folding hardtop project huh?
    Thought Vipermania would have bit on it,but nada! Go for it bubs!
    :)
     
  9. Biff Brown

    Biff Brown Enthusiast

    Age:
    59
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Location:
    Alexandria, Va., USA
    Save your $$$$$ Tony!!!...Not only have we attempted to do one but several other former top makers have tried one also. The "only" way to accomplish this is by making the top a "3-piece". I've taken a TGF hardtop ,which is the smallest top ever made for a Viper, cut it in half and it's still too big!! You would need to have a fixed center piece (ala "T" tops) and then 2 removeable panels, unfortunately a "fixed" center peice would create several safety issues. Sorry guys, we went down this road approx. 4 years ago....HOWEVER!!! Tony, if you can complete something along these lines we'd be happy to produce the tops for you!!!....I sincerly wish you Good Luck and please feel free to contact me with any questions...
     
  10. 1TONY1

    1TONY1 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    5,661
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Location:
    Dalton Ga. (Chatt. Tn.)
    Thanks Biff. Sometimes nothing is impossible for a male in heat :) (just kidding, I have been married 21 years)What I am thinking is very possible, It's just going to take some fabrication. I just hate starting with a new top. After it's done and proven then I am sure you could spit them out easily. My goal is to satisfy the wife....after that we will see. you have pm.
     

Share This Page