When it's time for new tires...

PeerBlock

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Been thinking about this in the back of my head...but those pirellis are going to wear out eventually and need replacing. There is no way in hell I'm taking my viper to any of the local shops so some dude who has a degree in counting to potato can install new tires. Any suggestions on where to take the viper when it's time for tires?

Nine Ball

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Now that I've had some experience with the Pirelli Corsa track pack tires, I can share some dismal information about them. They are nearly impossible to dismount without damaging the tire. I caught a nail in one of my rear tires, so I was dismounting it to patch the tiny nail hole. The tires grip like mad to the bead area of the wheel, which made them very difficult to remove. My bead breaker ended up hurting the sidewall on that tire, as the sidewalls are very soft and thin. It wasn't evident until I re-mounted it and aired it up. A 1" diameter bubble formed on the sidewall. One tire down. I had a set of Michelin Sport Cups here, so I decided to replace the rear Corsas with those. Upon dismounting the other good tire, the same thing happened. Sidewall got stretched when trying to break the bead - ruined the second tire.

I've mounted/dismounted many hundreds of tires, some with stiffer sidewalls, most with lower profile, and some that had me cussing. But, never have damaged a wheel or tire during the process. These sidewalls are too flimsy/soft, and the bead is too tight on the wheel. I was able to mount them without issue, but getting them off was nearly impossible. I used to think run-flats were the worst, since they were so stiff. Now I dislike these tires, because the sidewalls are too thin/soft.

Meanwhile, those Michelin tires have been on/off 3 sets of wheels now, and are much easier to install/remove.