Will a jump start charge the battery from the underhood posts? (battery charger?) ---

alwayscode390

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have gotten slammed at work and haven't had time to change out the power steering pulley that broke on me last week.

The temps here have dropped from 55 to 25 ... and I am pretty sure I am about to deal with a dying battery.

My belt is not on the car right now ... and I need to get it to the shop less than 5 miles up the street.

To make sure my battery lasts the 5 minutes I need it to ... do you think I should add jumper cables to the underhood battery posts of the Viper , then to a running car for a few minutes? That should add a charge to the Viper battery, right?

How safe is it to try to charge the battery from the underhood posts using an actual battery charger?

This is my first time with a "remote battery" ... and jacking the car up, taking off the wheel, and taking out the battery are my last option before getting the car towed. I don't trust tow trucks with these cars ... they sit too low.

I don't want to put the belt back on with the broken pulley either ... it will just get thrown back off , and I don't have the time to do the pulley/mount swap myself for atleast another 2 weeks.

Thanks for the help and advice :) ---

Reaction score
Re: Will a jump start charge the battery from the underhood posts? (battery charger?)

You can for sure charge the battery with a trickle charger from under the hood, I think if it is dead you would be running it a long time to charge enough that when you shut it off it would start again, just put the trickle on it overnight.

OP
OP
A

alwayscode390

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Re: Will a jump start charge the battery from the underhood posts? (battery charger?)

I was reading about the pcm issue with people using those Jump Start Boxes ... so should I stay clear of the "fast start"(12amp) setting and just keep the trickle on it (2amp)? ---

speedracervr4

Enthusiast
Reaction score