1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WTB: Gen 3 crank damper, pulley, bolt

Discussion in 'SRT10 and SRT10 Coupe Discussions' started by cash84, Feb 22, 2012.

  1. cash84

    cash84 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Sorry if this not suppose to be posted here but how many really look at the wanted ads? lol

    Like the title says! I've been really getting a move on my project and I rather not pull off anything from my viper. I know mine has the big crank damper bolt but I need the small one. This has to be in okay condition so I can test fit the mandrel drive for the dry sump. Can reply here or email me at [email protected] with a price.
     
  2. Viper Specialty

    Viper Specialty Viper Owner

    Posts:
    5,597
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Location:
    Buffalo NY, USA
    From your other posts, you are working on a Dry Sump. The OE damper is poor as it is, I would not advise trying to work around it. Use an ATI based system instead. The two are not partially interchangeable like they are on Gen-1/2 car, so you would have to design around the ATI to start with. You could also run a Gen-4 ATI, which would give you near 1.5" of free space on the BACK side of the hub between the damper and timing cover.
     
  3. cash84

    cash84 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Thanks for replying back to this. Now I'm glad you posted this. I am planning using the ATI racing but didn't know the offset is different. Explains why it comes with a pulley. I did talk to ATI racing and he told me my best bet is to use mandrel drive. The damper is too close to the engine to put any kind of drive. As you said the gen 4 has 1.5" clearance behind the damper. Would you happen to have a picture of this? The steering rack only has like little over an inch from the pulley.
     
  4. MTGTS

    MTGTS Enthusiast

    Posts:
    2,251
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    Scharfs prob has them laying around. I have extra Gen 2 but not Gen 3
     
  5. Viper Specialty

    Viper Specialty Viper Owner

    Posts:
    5,597
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Location:
    Buffalo NY, USA
    I will try and get a picture later. The Gen-4 damper is moved forward, and the pulley is right up against it, but the crank and belt are in the same locations as Gen-3. I actually mounted an auxiliary crank trigger in this empty space with room to spare, granted the Gen-3 and Gen-4 timing covers are different with regard to anything that may be in the way, so you will have to use your judgement on whether it may work for you.
     
  6. cash84

    cash84 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    I have dealt with him in the past and I believe he has poor communication through emails. I have asked for a yellow front bumper and he had one but I had to email him twice in order to get him to respond back with pictures. Thanks for your help tho.

    Okay, I don't get what ATI racing Tech telling me to do but I found this and seems like this is the correct part I would need and mount a HTD pulley on the damper :dunno: The part number is 917933E. Couldn't this work?
     
  7. Viper Specialty

    Viper Specialty Viper Owner

    Posts:
    5,597
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Location:
    Buffalo NY, USA
    here is a picture of a Gen-4 Damper/Pulley. Note the extra room on the back side of the hub.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. cash84

    cash84 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Yep I knew the difference but thought it could be interchangeable to a HTD pulley.

    You mean keyed for the HTD pulley correct?

    I can't get the picture :( I probably have to have facebook account for that right? I took mine off about a month ago.
     
  9. Gotvenom 08

    Gotvenom 08 Guest

    Jeff

    I could be of some assistance here if you need.I am handier than YOU look ya know! :) Jus sayin! All I need is dimensions and we are good to go.Possibly Dan could help us with that?


    T
     
  10. cash84

    cash84 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Yeah I got the picture on explore, I was on firefox ugh. Okay, that looks like what I really need! Would you happen to have the OD where you have the trigger wheel?
     
  11. Viper Specialty

    Viper Specialty Viper Owner

    Posts:
    5,597
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Location:
    Buffalo NY, USA
    I do not, and I cant really get a caliper in there anymore. ATI should be able to supply that if you need it in advance.
     
  12. cash84

    cash84 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Well I got the gen 4 damper. One problem, it sits tight against the seal so I found a exact size washer 18ga and it got enough to space out away from the seal. I now see that it's going to be a pita to route a belt to the location I plan on having the pump. I just need a day break on this. I know I can figure it out.
     
  13. Viper Specialty

    Viper Specialty Viper Owner

    Posts:
    5,597
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Location:
    Buffalo NY, USA
    I would not do that... now the belt offset is all wrong.

    How much interference with the seal? The seal can be turned on the backside to gain about .100 or so [it will drop further into the cover], and the hub rear can be turned as well to gain a little bit if need be.
     
  14. cash84

    cash84 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Thanks for the catch! Okay, I can turn the seal around. The hub just catches the seal. My other option is to mill down the the hole for the seal to gain some room but turning the seal should be good. It's about .06 I need to gain.

    Do you know my any chance if someone may have a gilmer pulley with 2.000" ID? I got one coming that is big enough to put in a 2" ID in it then use set screw at 180 degrees
     
  15. Viper Specialty

    Viper Specialty Viper Owner

    Posts:
    5,597
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Location:
    Buffalo NY, USA

    FYI- don't reverse the seal. I meant turn as in turn on a lathe. Trim the back outer edge a bit.

    Not sure on the Gilmer- but I would not use a set-screw in that app. That is keyway territory. Use a shallow woodruff or small square key and a press-fit or a tight slip fit with a clip & groove on both sides.
     
  16. cash84

    cash84 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Thanks for the picture! I'm trying every effort not to remove the A/C. Where were you able to put the oil Tank? Best solution I found was right in front of the engine. I am switching to a Gen 4 rad fans to gain little room.
    Opps, I misread what you said but yes I know what you mean by turning since I understood that on the hub. Gezz, whats with me? I must have my g/f's hormones since she is pregnant ha.

    Hmm A keyway must be the only solution. I just thought another idea about having longer bolts that can go through the gilmer and through a nut on but probably not a good idea. I think the shallow woodruff would be the best.
     

Share This Page