After 3 blown engines... Is the nightmare over?

Aevus

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Ok, a (very) long story short:

Bought my stock gen 3 (2005) 3 years ago. Month of may 2021 I blew the stock engine on my first (and last) visit to the track.
Cause: poorly designed stock oil pan. Ok, fine, my bad so to speak.
Solution: bought a used engine and a Compe Coupe swing arm oil pan.

Month of may 2022, the 2nd engine blew (apparently previously rebuilt, and not in a good way, but wait, maybe something else...)

Month of may 2023, my stock engine, fully rebuilt with forged pistons/rods, balanced crank, high CR and a big camshaft, light valvetrain, the works... lasted 600 miles before that bad feeling of worn out bearing pops up again... Never felt so much despair for a thing made of metal and rubber.

Now, I'm no expert nor a mechanic. But the engine builder inspected the freshly rebuilt but blown engine and told me that corrupted oil is the culprit. Metal particules everywhere. So basically the mechanic (who is not the engine builder) never changed the oil lines or the oil cooler, since the begining, which means the 2nd engine in 2022 might already suffer from the oil lines/cooler not being changed at the time.

Obviously, as you can imagine, no one wants to take the blame, no one wants to be involved in anything... How surprising. Lawyers war will begin soon, etc.. etc.. But hey that's **** for later.

NOW, the huge problem i'm facing is ... I have 2 engines and ''none is rebuildable'', because both crankshafts can be machined (at best) at 0.020'', which means I can't find (quality) bearings nowhere.... AND the crankshaft from the G3 is discontinued.

So, is there, anywhere, please, someone who can point out any glimpse of hope so I can drive my car in june 2024, and maybe expect my car to last something like an entire summer?

I truly love that car, spent so much time in it, but damn that feels like a neverending nightmare...

Any help would be very appreciated.

Kai SRT10