Is this safe? '96 GTS + 5yr old child in front facing child seat +

Edward 96GTS

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Is this safe? \'96 GTS + 5yr old child in front facing child seat +

no airbag shutoff on the 1996 GTS. I thought only rear facing child seats in the front seat is dangerous. Can I safely drive my daughter in the passenger seat if she is facing forward in a car seat?
TIA,
Ed

jcaspar1

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Re: Is this safe? \'96 GTS + 5yr old child in front facing child seat +

Just pull the airbag fuses. I have been giving my daughter rides since she was 6 months old.

phantred

Enthusiast
Reaction score

They're just kids, you can always have more.

But seriously, if the child gets thrown forward enough when secured in the car seat to hit the airbag, the seat or belt has failed, and the airbag is probaby the best thing to be hitting.

^ Opinion of course, not advice.

viperrt96

Enthusiast
Reaction score

96RT10 No air bags at all ! LOL!

I take my 4 and 2 year old out in mine all the time! I say take your daughter with you. She'll love it and so will you!

propsail

Enthusiast
Reaction score

Pull the fuses if that's what it takes (of course, I don't know if that disables the driver's side bag as well. If it does, you won't have the tensioners in the seatbelt in event of a crash.)

An airbag will seriously injure your daughter, if not worse. I saw a training video of the effects of an airbag deployment on a rear facing child seat. The seat was utterly destroyed. You have to ask yourself if you're confident that the crash you're in won't force the dashboard toward your daughter, or that the seat anchors won't shear and be forced forward toward dash. Are you confident you secured the seat properly (over 80% aren't)? Are you confident that you secured her properly? Remember, you may be the best driver in the world, but the person that hit you at 60mph isn't. It's not worth the risk, my friend.