Manual Tranny???

Reaction score
I have been driving a stick for about 15 years, I'm not here to say that I am a wizard on the shifting but I'm darn good at it..Whats the deal with third gear on the Viper..I seem to be always getting myself in trouble when I go into it..At quick shifts it seems it doesnt want to get in the slot..I know alot of you guys told me to get a shorter shifter but will that make a big difference in this problem I'm having???

SapphireGTS

Enthusiast
Reaction score
That is one of the few complaints I have about the viper. I put a new shifter on the car and it actually made it worse. The stock shifter is very long but the entire thing comes off, knob, shaft and all. You can play around with different knobs until you find one you like. Thats what I did. I have been driving stick for quite some time and find that a car not going into the right gear can really throw a wrench into things. Like a mustang not going into reverse, a ferrari 308-328-348 not going into second. Mazda rx7 not going into first.

Cars are weird and they all seem like they have a different characteristic.

So . . . its the car. . . not you.
smile.gif
But play around with different shifters and you'll get on you like and remove that stupid Looooong shaft. I forget who makes it but I have a shifter on mine that eliminates the shifter pole and the new shifter screws right into the tranny where the long post originally screws into. Its made by some metal fab company and has a viper stamped into the top. The shifter was like 80 bucks and makes the shifter feels like a short shifter was installed.

Man. . . Im long winded today. Maybe because I drove the viper to work.

Good Day

Gar

Rich Detert

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I make a replacement shifter shaft for the Viper.
Here's a link to one of my post about it with a few responses from people who have them.

Post on Shifter Shaft