New owner: a few questions looking for advice

Bennett

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey all, I'm new to the viper group I just got my 1998 viper gts about 3 months ago. I've got two questions I hope you guys can help me with.
First I've noticed this is a pretty common issue looking at other photos of vipers, and yes I've used search and wasn't able to find a clear answer. But my car has a pretty large hood gap on the left and right front corners along bumper, anyone have some advice on fixing this issue?
Second is whenever I wash my car my passenger side floor will get wet. I'm not sure if there is a water passage that is blocked or what's going on? Anyone have some advice on this as well?
I really appreciate everyone's help on the board, can't wait to get more involved in the viper group!

Sainthitch

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I believe i may be able to help answer....but dont take me as 100% correct.

a) hood gap-really no way to fix it. The vipers fit and finish is not exactly perfect. you can move the hood around a little to make it smaller, but never get rid of it unless you do some fiberglass work.

b) water issue- i think the GEN II may be the same as the GEN I with this. the front "speaker" cover on the hood which is actually the air intake for your heating and cooling system can allow water in. I think there is a gasket or something that can cause leaking....pretty sure there are a few threads about it.

Hope that helps somewhat. I am sure someone else may have exact 100% answers for you.

Welcome none the less and you should look at becoming a full member to get access to all the other forums. helped me a lot as a new viper owner.

speedracervr4

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Welcome, The hood gap can be fixed by shimming the front facia and/or headlights...Most Gen IIs have some sort of gap and most just live with it. I'm not sure about your wet floor issue, I've never had that before. Post up some pics of your ride!

7TH_SIGN

Enthusiast
Reaction score