piolt sport cups of hoosier r6/a6?

doc

Enthusiast
Reaction score
what do you prefer for strictly track use? i know the michliens last a little longer, but the price difference is pretty outrageous. for those of you with the hoosiers, do you notice them wearing fast? i would think with a treadwear rating of 40, they wouldnt last more than a few long days at the track. any input would be great.
thanks

btw - size wise this is 345/30/19r and 285/30/18f

thanks

OP
OP
D

doc

Enthusiast
Reaction score
mostly open track days at willow springs and the like. im not anywhere close to a professional driver, but i'm trying to get better. if the hoosiers are going to get beat up quickly because i'm a novice, i would rather spend the extra money and buy the sport cups now and get some more use out of them.

OP
OP
D

doc

Enthusiast
Reaction score
thats what im thinking. thanks, might be giving you a call in the near future.

Jeff Monheim

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I have used both of these tires on the same car 08 SRT10, and the same track. Watkins Glenn NY (High speed track) and Toronto Motor Sport Park ONT.(technical track)cups are ok. I thought I liked them (over ps2)until I tried the Hoosier R6. I never did wearout the Sport cups, (by tread depth) used them about 8 track days (110-135 Miles a day)and about 700 road miles. I think they were used up for the track though, as the color changed a Purpleish color on the sholders, from repeated heat cycles) The feed back was minimal to ok and stuck better than ps2. Now the Hoosier R6 stick much better, give better feed back and did not wearout from heat or wear, so far, but I only have 5 track days on this set. and 20 street miles. (should not drive the Hoosiers on the street).
I will say I bought both sets from PartsRack and Tire Rack heat cycled them before shipping. Heat cycling is the only way to go IMO.