Powdercoat or Paint?

jojogts

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Guys just wondering which would be a better choice. Powdercoat or paint, Ive been running the same wheel for 3 years now and I think its time for a new look. Wheels now are a gloss black center with a fully polished lip, I would like to go all black but Im not sure if I want to have them painted or powdercoated. Im thinking powdercoating would be hard to change if I didnt like it...

SA HEAT

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I've had both and believe powdercoating is much more durable than paint...not as easy to scratch and you'll get less road/chip damage.

OP
OP
J

jojogts

Enthusiast
Reaction score
But how hard is it to get off if I want to change again in the future...

BlknBlu

Enthusiast
Reaction score
If you remove it you can always powdercoat another color. It will have to be blasted off to remove. Powder coat is extremely durable.

Bruce

blackandblue01

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I am on the same path, But I have seen pictures of chrome powder coat and black chrome powder coat. Anyone seen either one of these in person? If so what did you think?

F

FrgMstr

Getting my first set of Viper wheels powder coated this coming week. It will be the third set I have done black. First two were on off road trucks. PC is the way to go for SURE with wheels. Much more durable. Possible to blast it off, but usually somewhat expensive to do so. As for going back to chrome or polished after PC, well, that is possible, but it would be possible to have the wheels re-chromed after blasting the PC off, but I don't think you would ever get those polished again for any reasonable price.

F

FrgMstr

I am on the same path, But I have seen pictures of chrome powder coat and black chrome powder coat. Anyone seen either one of these in person? If so what did you think?

I have seen some pearl-esque PC finishes, but if you want chrome or black chrome, then you want to go with the real deal.

NI-KA

Enthusiast
Reaction score