SECURE VIPER TO CAR HAULER

TOPGON

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I have heard there is a special method of securing a Viper to a car hauler versus the conventional straps around the axles secured to the hooks on the trailer bed. Where are there locations on a 2004 SRT that are best to secure the tie-downs?
THX

Vipera Russelli

Enthusiast
Reaction score
On four locations on the frame, accessible via the wheel wells, there are slots cut into the frame, each about 0.75" wide and 1.75" long. Each slot is aligned or oriented in the direction of the straps that you will hook up (i.e., a slot is not vertical or horizontal, but rather at an angle of about 40 degrees). You'll feed "R-hooks" (see link below) into these slots so that only the loop is protruding from the frame, which is where you hook the tie-down strap.

http://www.awdirect.com/awdirect/catalog.cfm?dest=itempg&itemid=8978&secid=89&linkon=subsection&linkid=395

OP
OP
T

TOPGON

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I am a newbie Viper owner another former Corvette lifer. One thing obvious about the VCA site versus ZO6 Forum for example is the detailed responses on this site. Moreover while I like a joke as much as the next guy on the Corvette sites you tend to get a 3 to 1 ratio of comic remarks versus the information you need.

I think I found a new home Many Thanks

Brad04Mamba

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I use "S" hooks from Dan Cragin. He has found that some other hooks have caused frame damage on the SRT's.

Search for his post in the new product section. You will get alot of good info in there about different hooks.

Vipera Russelli

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I use "S" hooks from Dan Cragin. He has found that some other hooks have caused frame damage on the SRT's.

Search for his post in the new product section. You will get alot of good info in there about different hooks.