stock shifter issues?

sctdev

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Is it just me, or is the stock shifter "not so good"? I just bought a 2006 and I still shift back to 2nd instead of 4th, 3rd instead of fifth, etc. I've been driving manual transmission vehicles for 25 years, including drag stip passes, and I've never had these kind of issues.

Is the Hurst shifter a lot more precise?

dp

P.S. Yes, I did do a search first, but try searching for shifter ...

Hamrhead

Enthusiast
Reaction score
IMO, it's pretty good. I can find the next gear pretty easily (usually;) ).

Though I was driving an SRT Ram for 3 years before this, and that stock shifter was s-l-o-p-p-y.

OP
OP
S

sctdev

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Thanks. I'll get an SVS shifter. The stock one may also improve with a little more use.

Canyon707

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I think the tranny is part of the problem. I remember back when I had my roadrunner you could bang gears like no tomorrow ful throtle shifts smoke in third gear. Now that is waht I call shifting. The viper is not that way at all it seems to always hang just a bit before going into gear. I think thats why you see so many miss shifts. I have the MGW short throw and it is better but, I expected more Comments?????

Viper X

Former VCA National President
VCA Officer
Reaction score
I'm not crazy about the stock shifter either but comparing a 4 speed to a 6 speed is apples and oranges. If you work on it and keep your hand in the correct position for each shift, shifting becomes much more positive. For the 3 to 4 and 5 to 6 shifts, try holding the shifter on the driver's side with your thumb down as you shift, gently pulling the shifter into gear.