Thinking about getting some new heads as my next upgrade... Questions.

heath1225

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I contacted a dealer in Louisville who has Carl Self on staff, aka the King of Mopar. I said I wanted some new heads and I asked if they could install them and do a tune, etc. They said they can do whatever I need. Now I know upgrading heads is a big jump, but I wasnt aware that I needed to upgrade the fuel rail, gaskets, injectors, and all the wiring, as well as the fuel pump. I figured the stock gaskets, injectors, wiring, and fuel pump would do the trick, but I am a rookie and dont know anything. So what do you all think? I could go through them, buy the heads kit there which is from MOPAR and spend $7,000 in parts and who knows how much in labor, or I could piece it together myself and send the parts to them to install and tune and maybe save some money. So I guess it boils down to this: If I get new heads, what else do I need to get with it? I have long tube headers, high flow cats, 3" exhaust, 1.7" rockers, smooth tubes, and a tune. Do I also need a new cam? Thanks!

speedracervr4

Enthusiast
Reaction score
What year? I thought you had a Hennessy 650 (upgraded heads?) You do not need new injectors,fuel pump, fuel rails, or wiring. I personally would not use that shop if they told me all that. What Mopar heads? I would go with Gregg Good for heads.

You do not NEED a cam, but it will help you achieve the max potential from all your mods. It will add a substantial amount of labor and money to the project because the front of the motor and oil pan has to come off.

Go with an SCT tune once everything is done.

Search for ViperTony and it'll show you his NA head/cam Build.

OP
OP
H

heath1225

Viper Owner
Reaction score