Wet sanding ... final step ...

Gerald

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Somehow I got a few minor scratches in my 05 black paint. No big deal as I can wet sand it out if they are not too deep. I can get them out on my other viper (red 98) but with the BLACK paint, it shows all the imperfections if any.

The problem is after wet sanding the black paint and getting the scratch out,it will leave a cloudy finish (tons of small scratches).. No big deal, use 3M rubbing compound and then 3M finish restorer with a random orbital bufffer right?? Upon completion it looks great, but I just can't get that end result black luster, I still see just a hint of cloudiness.... How can I get that final step correctly since I've got that black paint ? Buffer with cloth pad (That just seems to cloudy it up more), Buffer with foam pad?, etc???

Gerald

GaryA

Enthusiast
Reaction score
While I'm no expert, I've studied this a lot and it seems that everybody that wet sands follows it by polishing the area with a wool pad and then using a foam pad as the final step. The wool pad can burn through the clear coat if you don't do it right.

You might find a piece of scrap body panel (or a donor car) and try it out and see if that works. I'm sure there are many experts here that can be more specific than me.

onerareviper

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I give you credit, wet sanding a new Viper without being a pro. It's very easy to go thru the clear.

IMO an orbital buffer is probably the wrong tool to use after wet sanding. A rotary buffer is what any pro would use with a 3M formula to remove the scratches/haze. The oribitals just don't have the power to do a great job and don't generate enough/any heat. Don't get me wrong, the Porter Cable Orbital is great for general detailing, but removing wet sanding scratches is not what it's designed for.