ZO6 to Viper -- Keep me out of trouble!!

fixbone

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Tomorrow I turn in my leased 2002 ZO6 and, in my transition to the dark side, will then take possession of a new Copperhead SRT-10. I am a pretty good driver -- I dragged the ZO6 a bit but never autocrossed-- but no expert. Anyone who has driven a ZO6 knows it is a very forgiving vehicle, especially in Competitive mode, so it keeps you out of trouble. I want to stay out of trouble with the Viper. So a few words of advice given to me would be helpful.
Like "Don't stomp on it in 2nd gear going around a turn..." etc.

Also, anyone in Chicago or Southern Wisconsin who knows a relieable tuner if and when I later want to mod it.

Thanks

ledfoot

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Great move, Fishbone.......One piece of advice...You can't pick your nose while your driving now. People are watching

AG98RT10

Viper Owner
Reaction score
You're going to have a couple of close calls, if you're like me, before you realize just how different the Viper is from your Vette. I went from a C5, modified pretty well, to my snake and almost killed myself the first couple of months. What I didn't expect was the sudden rear end rotation around the car's friggin axis when red-line shifting into third at around 75 mph one cool night. I recovered, but barely. Worse, wife was with me on her first ride!

Listen, lots of macho people will bluff and say the Viper's not that bad; just do a little search on all the newbies who've wrapped their snakes, sometimes getting themselves or others killed. My main dictum: "there is NOTHING about owning a Vette that has prepared you for your Viper."

Start over with a clean slate, get some driving school experience, lose it a couple of times someplace where you can't really break anything. The snake is unforgiving, and it's not if, but when, you'll "lose it."

That said, welcome to the dark side! :2tu:

VTen555

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Congrats Fixbone.