Calgary Viper Event

fireball

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Folks,

I’ve received several messages asking about this years Calgary Viper Event. Unfortunately I won’t be putting it together this year.

I've been putting together the event for the last 2 years and we really had some good times and did a lot of fun things!

Although the Calgary Viper Event never made the club events schedule, I was intent on growing the event every year. My intention was to expand it, get more people attending and to do even cooler things. I even hoped that, one day, we’d make the Events Schedule!

The reason I’m not doing it this year is pretty basic. I normally select the date based on several things. My availability (of course), the time required to pre-run the driving routes and availability of the race track. This years date wasn’t selected by me, so it doesn’t meet any of my normal criteria. So I’m out for that reason – well… mostly that reason. I guess the good news is that it did make the event schedule.

Anyway, there is an ‘Alberta’ event on the schedule. I don’t see anyway that it’ll involve the race track but since I’m not organizing the event I really have no idea what’s planned. I do hear stories about replicateing our first year Badlands Drive. I know there’re a few of the guide books I put together still out there.

I’d like to thank the folks that did attend the event in years past and despite some terrible weather conditions, I KNOW we had a great time! Truthfully, the drive in the snow last year was epic! We actually passed a working snow plow on the highway. It was fanatastic.

We had several people that drove a long ways to attend the past events – I really appreciated that. I’d especially like to thank Brad – he came the furthest each year. Shawn also drove for many hours. Thanks guys!

I’d also like to thank the good folks at Davenport for letting us use their dyno. We had a great time there and we put up some big numbers. Nice.