Couple of questions from a new guy.

426Hemi

Enthusiast
Reaction score
First post as I just got my account approved, and I love the site. Not a owner (yet) but hope to have one within the next 10 years, hopefully less. I recently found what could be an answer to my dreams. There is someone here in Owings Mills Maryland that gives "Training Rides" for $75/hr. To me this is a bargain to drive one of my dream cars. Does anyone know anything about this?

Just wanting to know if you fine folks have any tips for someone who has never driven a Viper before (other than keep the shinny side up)? I believe that I am an above average driver (but who dosen't) and have had some driving experience with mildy powerful cars (M3, '03 Cobra, and Firehawk). I don't want to make a fool of myself but I do want to get the most out of my hour.

Thanks in advance for the tips, and I hope to join you all someday in the dream that is Viper ownership. :usa:

BADVENOM

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Make sure if you punch it that the car is straight or the rear wheels will brake loose, Dont punch it in a turn or your gonna fishtail big time, This car has tremoendous Torque. Other than that shift smooth and hold on for dear life! Enjoy.. Oh and one other thing..you can break the wheels loose in 2nd and third gears as well...

Adam :headbang: :2tu:

Vic

VCA Venom Member
Reaction score
The first time I drove a Viper was a 97 GTS, and I punched it a little bit in first, ok so far, with mild wheel spin. That went ok, so I thought I'd get on it a little harder. When I hit second, the back end started to come around, so I got off it quick. Moral of the story is, don't punch it hard unless its pointed straight! Learn the limits gradually. Eventually you will want more power! That the stage I'm at, having gotten used to 450+HP, I'm wondering what 650 feels like.

VPRVENM97

Enthusiast
Reaction score