Front vs. Rear brake pad choice

ViperGeorge

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Yes, I've searched. Only came up with three threads and none of them covered this topic. I've been tracking Vipers for 10+ years but I have not really considered this question before. I've tried a lot of track brake pads on the Viper - SBS, Porterfield, Brakeman,and now Raybestos. I've also used the OEM pads on the track but they really don't work as well. Of all the pads I like the Raybestos the best for the track. Thing is though that I use the same pad compound front and rear. An SRT engineer told me that I could use the stock (OEM) pad on the rear without a problem.

Do any of you track rats use different pads front to rear? If you do, do you use the OEM pad in the rear or some other compound? Does using a different rear pad improve the brake feel? What are your favorite pad combos front and rear? I have found that a Gen 3/4 can feel a little squirrelly under very hard braking. Rear dances a bit. SRT engineer has told me this is normal as the brake system is working to maximize rear braking while still preventing lockup. Still doesn't feel great although my ACR is better in this regard I suspect because of suspension and aero.

Thanks for the advice.

Reaction score
I like the Carbotech pads XP10 or 12 front and XP8 for the rear, this will give great bite and not overwhelm the rear as much. I don't like the ABS ever kicking in and think this combo is very good. Everyone will have their opinions though, I do know though that using the same compound front and rear with the Carbotechs would NOT work well and the rear end tries to lock up then the ABS comes on and IMHO your braking is not as good.

Viper X

Former VCA National President
VCA Officer
Reaction score
Like you, I've tried a bunch of brake pad combinations including OE, Brakeman, Mintex, Porterfields, PFC's and Raybestos to name a few.