Tire Question for our track experts

PAvenomRT/10

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I am relatively new to the track and high performance driving having only started a year ago. My question relates to tire durability and safety and when they should be replaced. I have searched the forums and found several posts relating to how many heat cycles one can expect from track tires. However, that seems subjective as different tracks will heat tires differently along with different weather conditions, etc. My question is what is a more objective method for determining when track tires need to be replaced? Is change in durometer measurements the best method and is there an "absolute" durometer reading when a tire should be replaced?
I am currently running Michelin PSC's.
Thanks for any and all input.
PAVenom RT/10

Paul Hawker

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Difficult to have a hard and fast rule here.

Fresh, scrubbed tires stick the best. Each heat cycle will degrade the performance, and tire wear is also a factor.

Some wear out the tread before heat cycles become an issue, while others tend to change them out even with some rubber left because they are too slick.

Some keep an older, worn tire to "use up" on practice days, then switch to fresh tires for mortal combat.

With track experience you will know when they are going away, as the durometer is not the final answer.

Busy track guys usually end up with a trailer full of somewhat used tires to throw on, as well as a fresh set for the finals.

Chuck 98 RT/10

Enthusiast
Reaction score
They lose grip but that doesn't mean there's a safety issue, you can track them to the wear bars just like on the street, your laps times just won't be as fast. For any guy that drives a fresh tire like he drives a tire that has a dozen cycles the safety issue isn't with the tire it's with the idiot driving.

viper067

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Since we have a tire question post, I'll add to it ...