Viper Insurance

T.C.z.

Viper Owner
Reaction score
If this has been discussed before, forgive me. I don't have anything to offer on the technical side of Viper things, so I figured I would write what I know about. I see a lot of misinformation about auto insurance in general, and Viper owners seem to be no exception. I am an commercial insurance producer for the 60th largest agency in the USA.

There are a few things to keep in mind when you're insuring a car like a Viper. Keeping the following items in mind when you go out to purchase a policy could save you a lot of headache in the end.

1. Car Valuation. All personal auto policies are written with one of three methods of valuation: Actual Cash Value (ACV), Stated Value/Amount, and Agreed Value/Amount. With ACV, at the time of a loss, the adjuster will assign a value to your car, and barring extreme circumstances, you are stuck with the amount the adjuster assigns. Under a Stated Amount policy, many people believe the value stated on the policy is what the insurance company will pay at time of loss. This is simply untrue. Stated Value policies almost always have wording that allows the insurance company to pay you either the stated amount OR the actual cash value of your vehicle. Bottom line, at the time of a loss, the insurance adjuster assigns a market value to your car and that is the amount you're paid--not the amount stated on the policy. Agreed Amount is the pinnacle of auto insurance valuation. Not many companies will sell Agreed Amount policies, and you will pay a slightly higher premium for Agreed Amount, but unequivocally, in the event of a total loss, an Agreed Amount policy will pay out the exact amount stated on the policy. Agreed Amount policies eliminate the need for GAP coverage as well.