18" fronts/17" rears????

MULE

Enthusiast
Reaction score
18\" fronts/17\" rears????

Larger front wheels makes for a quiker steer, not much front tire roll. But the back tires you want more tire hight for more grip comming out of a turn. On the Vipers you have so much tork that is is easy to brake the rear tires loose.

The above is from someone selling 18" front wheels. I have never heard of this, so what do you road racers think. I would think if the rear tire needs more revolutions the easier it would be lose the rear, but hey I'm a rookie. What do you experienced think?

jcaspar1

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Re: 18

The biggest advantage I can think of is being able to run 14" rotors. I would jump on 18" wheels in the 1996-1998 style in a minute. I don't really like the stock 18" and the aftermarkets are not better looking enough for me to justify the cost.

SoCal Rebell

Enthusiast
Reaction score

This is the combo I ran on my '00 RT/10 with Hoosier R3S03 tires. I ran a 305 front tire on an 18 x 12 rim, this makes the car turn better and I had the full Stoptech Big Brake system, you need the 18s up front to fit the 14.2" rotors. The reason for 17 x 13 rears (with a 335 tire) was a better "slip angle", actually 16" would work better but then you're locked into Goodyears on the rear.

OP
OP
M

MULE

Enthusiast
Reaction score

Socal Rebell?????
Do you post on the NASA forums? I believe the Socal Rebell on NASA drives a Viper. Viperize on the NASA forum is selling these wheels. They are Purner wheels. I checked out the clearance on my car, and since I put the Eibachs on I don't think I can fit 18s. Viperize is from Murrieta,CA, maybe you know him?

Bugeater

Enthusiast
Reaction score

Mule,
I am the one that inquired on these rims, and no Doubt SoCal is one in the same, NASA and here. Do you run any events in NASA???

Isnt Murrieta in Georgia?

OP
OP
M

MULE

Enthusiast
Reaction score