ABS or non for a newbie

cali-car-guy

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I was wondering if a newbie should by a non ABS Viper GTS? Im a skilled driver but no one is that skilled in this beast:drive:
I was also wondering the specifics of the stoping power and how controlable the car is with and without the ABS system.
sorry if this is a dumb question I just really want to know what Im getting myself into with the car.
Jlew:headbang:

Steve-Indy

VCA Venom Member
Venom Member
Reaction score
It's a good question, in my opinion, as it shows respect for a car that demands it.

Honestly, I like the ABS, but I have no plans to get rid of our non-ABS Vipers...noting that ours are street driven.

In my experience, the gas pedal causes far more problems than the brakes.

If, as Dave has inquired, you plan to track the car, I think you will find the ABS an advantage while you are getting familiar with the car as well as when you encounter slick surfaces.

Martin

Enthusiast
Reaction score
My personal experience with non-ABS cars has been good - but there have been times where ABS would have been great. Sometimes things just happen and you really need to get on the brakes hard, and there just isn't any way to control the brakes as well as the computer does. An example the other day was an idiot who decided to do a U-turn in front of me, behind a blind turn, across double-yellow lines. Thank god I was in my Jeep and not the Viper. The Jeep has Stillen brakes all around and ABS - I hit the brakes so hard that everything in the back of the Jeep migrated up into the front and we felt like our eyeballs were going to pop out. I stopped about five inches from broadsiding the guy - and I'm almost positive my GTS would have been toast because all four tires would have been locked up. That was one case where ABS saved the day.

Tom F&L GoR

Enthusiast
Reaction score