Broken fan - What Now

Rubble

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi All I have an 04 Gen III.

Started getting a weird vibration through the entire car the other day. It was intermittent and did not matter if the car was moving or not. I suspected some sort of balance issue with the cooling system in the belt or the pulleys related to it. (Sorry I am not technical) The internet is a wonderful thing and soon I discovered posts with the same symptoms I was getting. All indications were that it was a cooling fan issue. Perhaps a crack or a piece breaking off the fan causing it to go out of balance. I got out the flashlight today and rotated the cooling fan and it took me approx 1 minute to discover a piece missing off the outside end of the fan blades. I am pretty sure this is the issue.

So....what now ?

If anyone of the viper experts can suggest the most efficient and cost effective solution to my problem I would appreciate it.

Thanks
Rubble
You must be registered for see images attach

Viper Specialty

Legacy/Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
We can track down and replace your fan blade if it comes down to it. A pain in the ass for sure, but cheaper than a full replacement if you can find one.

OP
OP
R

Rubble

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey Dan, thanks for the quick reply.

Are you suggesting that just the fan and not the whole assembly can be replaced ?

Thanks
Randy

MoparMap

VCA National President
VCA Officer
Reaction score
Do you think it would be possible to rebalance what you have or would that be more cost and effort than it's worth? It's missing a piece, so seems like it could potentially be "easy enough" to add some material back to get the balance back (like wheel weights on a wheel), but given the design of the fan I'm not sure how realistic that idea is.

Viper Specialty

Legacy/Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
Hey Dan, thanks for the quick reply.