DLM III+ first impression

GTS-ACR

Enthusiast
Reaction score
First of all I'm still learning :confused: about my digital camera so please be patient. Well last night I received shipment of my 99 ACR with a DLM III+ (830rwhp/796rwtq) package lurking :cool: below it's skin. It was really exciting to see it backing out of the Exotic truck and hear the rumble. As it backed up beyond me I cought sight of the big polished intercooler behind the grill and then I noticed the whistle from the air duct. Wow what a beautiful :laugh: sound and sight. Looking under the hood :eek: was breathtaking. Doug and his crew have transformed my engine bay into a work of art. My first impression of this package is that Doug is as picky about detail as I am. I'm telling you every wire, clamp, hose, bolt, bracket, gauge looked like it came straight from the factory (if that's possible)and like it belonged there. The main reason I chose Doug to do the work on my car is his attention to detail and without a doubt he has lived up to his reputation. I know, I know blah blah blah, you want to know how it feels but imho this stuff about detail is as important as how it drives. After all you have to live with the craftsmanship as long as you own your car. Well, about the feel, it is certainly much louder now from both inside and out. The idle is very stable and predictable with a mild lope thanks to the new cam, head work and T&D rockers. Driving through the neighborhood was smooth at idle and certainly drew most everyone's attention and a few screams from a group of girls. It actually felt less jerky now with the DLM package at 5-20 mph than without it. On the main road there was incredible power on demand at all gears and speeds. I didn't push it in 1st or 2nd too hard (did't want to go sideways with my son on board for the :D maiden voyage) Third gear was a total trip! rolling into the go pedal was an endless boosted pull with unreal acceleration. Taking my foot off the pedal (due to fear) felt