Tell me how to track my GTS and protect motor

PowerKraus

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Next year I plan to have a little road track fun with my '02 GTS. But I have come across several posts about blowing out the #3 rod and oil starvation on sweepers. I've done a few searches and just can't seem to peg the correct search words to nail this issue down, with specifics.

Soooo, is oil starvation a problem for a 2002 GTS, and what are my options to prevent this. And while I drag race my Vette and have it set-up properly...I am new to road racing my Viper. I certainly would appreciate any pointers here...

My 'intent' is to begin my 'recreational' tracking at Motorsports Ranch here in Texas.

Thanks in advance. :2tu:

Ron

Enthusiast
Reaction score
The issue mainly occured in the early GENII's that had smaller oil pans.

MY2000 and up had the full 10 qt. pan that effectively negates the issue. Further protection can be had by adding baffles to your existing pan. Stage II would be a oil accumulator and finally the ultimate solution, a dry sump system. I'd guess baffles would be more than enough for your application, but I'm sure others would have better knowledge on the subject than I.

A properly mounted low oil pressure bright LED would enable you to see if momentary oil pressure loss occured and warn you to upgrade before it was too late. The stock Viper OP guage is worthless and the factory OP idiot light is mounted too low and dim to see a momentary blip.

Chuck 98 RT/10

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Road racing aint drag racing. Save your motor and don't go revving it to 5200+ every shift. You're just tracking, not doing time trials.

And don't go banging gears trying to shave off a tenth. You'll make more shifts in one lap than you do a whole day at the dragstrip, take care of your equipment.

Banging gears and high revs is the biggest problem dragracers have when they switch to road.

Nadine UK GTS

Enthusiast
Reaction score