Vec 3 questions???

MAVPR

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I am about to buy a second hand (only has 100 miles on it) Vec 3 for my 97 gts which has no cats, corsa exhaust, jesel 1.7's, air filter and smooth tubes. I just have a question or 2 before I pull the trigger.....

1. Is this something I can fit myself? I am not a mechanic but do like to do the simple jobs myself.

2. What kind of gains do you think are realistic from adding this to my set up? I am making 453 rwhp at the moment. I would only be going with a card pre written for my mods as there is no where around here (that i know of) that could tune this for me.

Thanks for any advice :)

Shandon

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I installed the Vec3 on my (srt-10)and at the time I had very little grease monkey skills. I do however enjoy electrical stuff. If you take your time, TAKE YOUR TIME, it's no problem to install. There are a lot of wires to cut and reconnect but not rocket science. The instruction that came with mine were precise and walked you through step by step. Sean will give you a card based on your mods for your car and he would be better at telling you what increase you would get. I got about 15rwhp on the top end but a very nice 25rwhp & Trq in the mid range. A lot of people focus on top end numbers but to me that "where I drive" power is whats important. Without a dyno to tune on you will have to trust whatever experience people have here or what sean tells you.

ViperTony

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I am about to buy a second hand (only has 100 miles on it) Vec 3 for my 97 gts which has no cats, corsa exhaust, jesel 1.7's, air filter and smooth tubes. I just have a question or 2 before I pull the trigger.....

1. Is this something I can fit myself? I am not a mechanic but do like to do the simple jobs myself.